Skip to main content
Main content

Intrust Super Championship

Click here to enlarge

The PNG Hunters will represent Queensland’s flagship competition when they play the NSW Cup premiers in Sunday’s NRL Intrust Super Championship match at ANZ Stadium in Sydney.

PNG’s thrilling 12-10 grand final victory over the Sunshine Coast Falcons at Suncorp Stadium not only secured them a maiden Intrust Super Cup premiership, but it pitched Michael Marum’s team into a highly-anticipated clash against the Penrith Panthers.

The Panthers confirmed their spot in the big one with a hard-fought 20-12 win over Wyong.

Now in its fourth year, the State Championship match is one of the highlights of the second tier rugby league calendar. 

It provides clubs from Queensland’s Intrust Super Cup and the NSW Intrust Super Premiership with a wonderful opportunity to showcase their talents on NRL grand final day in front of a big crowd and massive television audience. 

Queensland currently has a slight edge on NSW, with its teams having won two of the three matches so far. 

Following wins by the Northern Pride and Ipswich Jets, the Illawarra Steelers got one back for the NSWRL last year when they easily accounted for the Burleigh Bears.

Schedule for NRL Grand Final day...

Gates Open: 12.15pm QLD time (1.15pm NSW time)
2017 Holden Cup Grand Final: 12.35pm QLD time (1.35pm NSW time)
2017 Intrust Super Championship: 2.40pm QLD time (3.40pm NSW time)
Entertainment commences: 5.30pm QLD time (6.30pm NSW time)
NRL Telstra Premiership Grand Final: 6.15pm QLD time (7.15pm NSW time)

NRL Intrust Super Championship

ANZ Stadium, Sydney - Sunday October 1.
Kick-off: 2.40pm QLD time, (3.40pm AEST)
Jarrod Cole   Assistant referee: Chris Treneman
Broadcast: LIVE on Channel 9, LIVE HD on GEM and FOX Sports Channel 501
Broadcast: Radio coverage courtesy of ABC (Link available via ABC Grandstand)
Broadcast: Radio coverage courtesy of 2GB (Link available via

Team Lists


1. Stargroth Amean 22. Wawa Paul 3. Bland Abavu 4. Adex Wera 5. Butler Morris 6. Ase Boas (c) 7. Watson Boas 8. Wellington Albert 9. Wartovo Puara 10. Stanton Albert 11. David Loko 12. Nixon Putt 13. Moses Meninga 14. Rahdly Brawa 15. Willie Minoga 16. Enock Maki 17. Brandy Peter 18. Esau Siune

Coach: Michael Marum


1. Mason Cerruto 2. Maika Sivo 3. Jed Cartwright 4. Tony Satini 5. Christian Crichton 6. Jarome Luai 7. Darren Nicholls (c) 8. Moses Leota 9. Mitch Rein 10. Sitaleki Akauola 11. Viliame Kikau 12. Kaide Ellis 13. Sione Katoa 14. Tom Eisenhuth 15. Corey Waddell 16. Nick Lui-Toso 17. Jack Hetherington 18. Lachlan Stein 19. Oliver Clark

Coach: Garth Brennan

Take advantage of this NRL Grand Final special offer for PNG Hunters fans...

Click here to buy tickets...


How the Hunters got here: 2017 Intrust Super Cup Final Series

2017 Intrust Super Cup finals series


2017 Intrust Super Cup Grand Final highlights: PNG Hunters V Sunshine Coast Falcons
2017 NSW Intrust Super Premiership Grand Final: Penrith Panthers V Wyong Roos
2016 NRL Intrust Super Championship highlights: Burleigh Bears V Redcliffe Dolphins
2015 NRL State Championship highlights: Ipswich Jets V Newcastle Knights
2014 NRL State Championship highlights: Northern Pride V Penrith Panthers

NRL State Championship updates...

Stay in the loop via or QRL Live and the official Intrust Super Cup Facebook and Twitter pages.


Click here for all the latest updates...