You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Bronco Ben Barba pictured with Queensland Universities fullback Jared Allen today.

Queensland Universities coach Paul Lowe says his team will pride itself on its defence in tomorrow night’s annual clash against New South Wales Tertiary at Suncorp Stadium.

The Queensland team went into camp at Mt Gravatt on Tuesday morning to prepare for the annual grudge match, which will be played as a curtain-raiser to the NRL clash between the Broncos and Titans.

“We’ve worked particularly hard on our defence in an effort to make sure we minimise their points,” Lowe said.

Queensland rounded out their preparations with a sharp ball session at the Griffith Nathan fields this afternoon.

Earlier in the day, the Queenslanders watched the Broncos train at Red Hill. The morning visit included a tour of the NRL club’s facilities, a team lunch and a pep talk from Broncos co-captain Corey Parker.

Broncos fullback Ben Barba even took time out to meet Queensland No. 1 Jared Allen, who made his Intrust Super Cup debut for the Northern Pride in last weekend’s Channel 9 match.

The majority of players in this year’s Queensland team have Intrust Super Cup experience – a factor that Lowe believes will give his team an edge in tomorrow’s match.

“My last involvement was in 2011 and we’ve got a lot more experience in this side compared to then,” the Norths Devils assistant coach said.

“There’s a lot of guys who will be backing up for their clubs on the weekend.”

Devils halfback Sam Foster will have the honour of captaining the Queensland team.

He’ll be playing behind a formidable forward pack which includes Wynnum Manly Seagulls front-rowers Ben Shea and Stephen Coombe, along with Easts Tigers lock Jacob Ling.

Lowe concedes he knows little about the Blues team at this stage, although he is wary of former Cronulla Shark Luke Covell.

Queensland Universities v NSW Tertiary

Friday, May 16 @ Suncorp Stadium – kick off: 3.50pm

1. Jared Allen

2. Joshua Damen

3. Zac Koitka

4. Tom Murray

5. Adam Jeffery

6. Connor Toia

7. Sam Foster ©

8. Ben Shea

9. Nathan Norford

10. Stephen Coombe

11. Rhett Webster

12. Jono Miliszewski

13. Jacob Ling


14. Nick Durante

15. Herschel Gideon

16. Taniela Ilingana

17. Tom Hancock

18. Travis Drury