You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

A hat-trick of tries from Northern Pride flyer Javid Bowen provided the spark as the defending Intrust Super Cup premiers tore through the Norths Devils at Barlow Park last night.

All three of Bowen’s tries came in the second half as the hosts ran away with a convincing victory, their second since the previous weekend’s thrilling win over Redcliffe broke a four-match losing streak.

With another match at home next weekend against Souths Logan, the Pride will fancy their chances of notching a hat-trick of wins.

However, the only hat-trick being spoken about last night was Bowen’s try-scoring feats.

The speedy outside back put his name in front of Queensland Residents selectors with an eye-catching display.

Bowen scored the first of his four pointers in the 49th minute after superb lead up work from David Murphy and Cameron King.

They try seemed to open the floodgates in the second half following a tight opening half in wet conditions.

Norths really put the Pride to the test in the early exchanges, opening up a 10-4 lead on the back of tries from Luke Pollock and Brett Greinke.

However, the Pride steadied to level at 10-10, before snatching an unlikely 14-10 lead at half-time after an intercept from that man Bowen led to a runaway Linc Port try.

NORTHERN PRIDE 42 (Javid Bowen 3, Linc Port, Semi Tadulala, Sam Obst, Jack Svendsen, David Murphy tries; Hezron Murgha 4, Cameron King goals) def NORTHS DEVILS 10 (Luke Pollock, Brett Greinke tries; Luke Pollock goal) at Barlow Park.

Final teams

Northern Pride: 1. Hezron Murgha 2. Linc Port 3. Javid Bowen 18. Dean McGilvray19. Semi Tadulala 6. Ryan Ghietti 7. Sam Obst 8. Jack Svendsen 9. Jason Roos (c) 10. Patrick Kaufusi 11. Vaipuna Tia Kilifi 12. Graham Clark 13. Ben Spina 14. Cameron King 15. Tom Hancock 16. Sheldon Powe-Hobbs 17. David Murphy                

Norths Devils: 1. Luke Pollock 2. Steve Elliott 3. Dylan Galloway 4. Kainga Turner 5. Rogan Dean 6. Sam Foster 7. Ryan Millard 8. Richard Tuala 9. Krys Freeman 10. Francis Molo 11. Rhett Webster 12. Brett Greinke (c) 13. Todd Lowrie 14. Reece Baker 15. Max Seumanutafa 16. Matt Mizzi 17. Mark Vaiao