You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
CHRIS WALKER - IPSWICH JETS - INTRUST SUPER CUP -  PHOTO: SCOTT DAVIS - SMP IMAGES/QRL MEDIA - 26th April 2015 - Images from round 8 of the Intrust Super Cup, between the Redcliffe Dolphins and the Ipswich Jets, being played at Dolphin Oval, Redcliffe.  This image is for Editorial Use Only. Any further use or individual sale of the image must be cleared by application to the Manager Sports Media Publishing (SMP Images). NO UN AUTHORISED COPYING : PHOTO SMP IMAGES.COM/QRL Media

Pictured: Ipswich centre Chris Waller on the attack. Photo: Scott Davis SMP Images

The Ipswich Jets have been blessed with great leaders – men who when called upon lead with actions, not words.

Steve Parcell and Dan Coburn were men who seemed to say ‘follow me’ with every action.  In line with the Jets’ tradition of courageous captains, Keiron Lander joined the Ipswich’s 100 club at Dolphin Oval yesterday.

In the process, he became the 10th player to play 100 games for the Ipswich Jets.

Lander, head bandaged and bleeding, strode along the sideline ready to go back into action; ready to lead his men when the score got close and someone needed to not be fancy, not pass, not kick but take the ball and charge into the defence.

The Jets had two changes to their named team with debutant Joe Ofahengaue becoming Jet number 559 and Daniel Vidot coming into the side for the suspended Billy McConnachie, while the Dolphins had Josh Beehag as a late inclusion.

Ipswich started the first 15 minutes with a flurry of tries. Matt Parcell took off from the left of the posts and showed tremendous pace and skill to go between two defenders and run the 40 metres to leave the Dolphins’ fullback in his wake.

Dane Phillips then had the ball talking, he kicked first for Chris Walker to score try number three this year and then Carlin Anderson. The visitors were now up 14-0 after three tries.

The Jets misjudged the Dolphins attack and left a gap that could be exploited by a great pass from John Brady who found the powerful Anthony Cherrington to score on the right and get the Dolphins started at 14-6.

Redcliffe then struck back again before half time with a try to Shane Pumipi and suddenly things were looking up for the Dolphins at 14-12 with six minutes until half time.

What happened next has happened so many times it is nearly a staple part of watching the Ipswich Jets –  14-12 became 24-12 because Marmin Barba scored two quick tries through a 60 metre run and then a cheeky one on one steal right on half time.

The first 15 minutes of the second half saw the Jets defend and the Dolphins attack and attack. The Jets repelled the Dolphins time after time until Josh Beehag scored to give the Dolphins a reward for their efforts and at 24-16 Redcliffe visibly gained confidence.

For the next 25 minutes the two sides were neck and neck, trading tries with it becoming a two point game at 30-28 after a determined John Green crossed and Beehag completed his double. With 12 minutes remaining the game was in the balance until Parcell and Josh Cleeland finished the game, both completing try scoring doubles to seal the game at 42-28.

The Ipswich Jets will have Rod Griffin and Matt Parcell involved next week after being selected for the Queensland Residents team, while the Dolphins will be represented by centre Aaron Whitchurch.

IPSWICH JETS 42 (Marmin Barba 2, Josh Cleeland 2, Matt Parcell 2, Carlin Anderson, Chris Walker tries; Marmin Barba 5 goals) def REDCLIFFE DOLPHINS 28 (Josh Beehag 2, Shane Pumipi, Jon Green, Anthony Cherrington tries; Luke Capewell 4 goals) at Dolphin Oval.

Final teams

Redcliffe Dolphins: 1. Evander Cummins 2. Curtis Johnston 19. Josh Beehag 4. Aaron Whitchurch 5. Tom Opacic 6. John Brady 7. Luke Capewell (c) 8. Charlie Faingaa 21. Shane Pumipi 10. Jon Green 11. Josh Benjamin 12. Anthony Cherrington 13. Trent Richardson 14. Darcy Etrich 15. Tom Geraghty 16. Harley Aiono 17. Taylor Brown

Ipswich Jets: 1. Carlin Anderson 2. Marmin Barba 3. Chris Walker 4. Nemani Valekapa 5. Brandon McGrady 6. Josh Cleeland 7. Dane Phillips 8. Josh Seage 9. Matt Parcell 18. Joe Ofahengaue 11. Sam Martin 12. Kurt Capewell 13. Keiron Lander (c) 14. Troy O'Sullivan 15. Kurtis Lingwoodock 22. Daniel Vidot 17. Liam Capewell