You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Aaron Whitchurch - 2016 Interstate Residents match - QLD V NSW at Suzuki Stadium, Coorparoo. 1.40pm Sunday May 8, 2016.   PHOTO: Scott Powick - SMP IMAGES.COM

Head down to Suzuki Stadium (Langlands Park) on Sunday, May 7 for a great day of rugby league, as the venue will stage the annual XXXX Queensland Residents v NSW Residents match – as well as the state finals of the Under 18 Mal Meninga Cup and FOGS Under 20 Cup competition.

Souths Logan Magpies coach Jon Buchanan takes the helm of the XXXX Queensland Residents team this year and he and his squad will be looking for revenge after the Queensland side fell to the NSW representative side 30-16 last year.

This year’s XXXX Queensland Residents team will be announced shortly on – so keep an eye on the website.

This year’s Mal Meninga Cup competition will see a top 4 format, with the four highest-ranked teams competing in a finals series.

The finals series of matches shall be:

Week 1 – Game 1 – Team 1 v Team 4
Week 1 – Game 2 – Team 2 v Team 3
Week 2 – Grand Final – Winner of Game 1 v Winner of Game 2

Last year, the Townsville Blackhawks were the ultimate Under 18 winners, beating the Norths Devils in the final 38-16.

The winners of the Mal Meninga Cup state final will then go on to contest the National Final against their NSW counterparts in Sydney. Details to be confirmed.

This will be the first year the FOGS Under 20s Cup will be held in its current format, which has seen a wealth of talent battle it out over the last seven rounds for a shot at the finals.

Their finals series will follow the same format of the Mal Meninga Cup (posted above).

Here are the times for all three matches on Sunday, May 7 at Suzuki Stadium:

Mal Meninga Cup state final – 10am
FOGS Under 20 Cup state final – 11.50am
XXXX Queensland Residents v NSW Intrust Super Premiership Residents – 1.40pm* (live on Channel 9)