You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Rugby League Gold Coast launch season

Rugby League Gold Coast celebrated their 2018 season launch this Wednesday evening at Parkwood International Golf Club ahead of Round 1 this Sunday.

The 2018 QTOP A Grade competition will kick off in a gala day featuring all four of the opening round clashes at Bilambil Sports Complex.

Starting with Southport taking on Currumbin at 10am, it will be followed by Burleigh v Tweed at 11.45am, Bilambil and Ormeau at 1.30pm and finally Tugun against Runaway Bay at 3.15pm.

Bilambil, who host the festivities, will be relying heavily on the development of their juniors with the return of the likes of Thomas Rowles and Jack Welsh, who will both play along their siblings.

“We have got some experienced players, captain Mitch Spackman and Ben Black, to help lead the young players on the paddock,” Bilambil Jets coach Craig Rowles said.

On the other hand, the Ormeau Shearers have recruited heavily for 2018 with only three players from the 2017 A Grade side returning this year.

“The late start has really helped our pre-season, as we have been taking on teams outside the Gold Coast and we’re now ready to start 2018,” Ormeau Shearers coach Juilus Kuresa said.

Shane Blow will captain the side and former Tugun Seahawk Grayson Te Kiri will line up at five-eighth.

Halftime entertainment for the gala day highlight game will be provided by Dance Force who are based in Tweed Heads.

The excitement for Round 1 picked up on Wednesday when Rugby League Gold Coast held their season launch at Parkwood International Golf Club.

New and existing sponsors were celebrated along with representatives from every club.

Sponsors included Queensland Traffic Offenders Program (QTOP) who will be the naming rights sponsor for A grade, Doug Lipp Cup and Under 19s, Debbie Marzella Cup naming rights sponsor Kennards Hire, Under 6 to Under 17 naming rights sponsor Queensland Traffic Education Program (QTEP) as well as silver sponsors Sheetmetal Improvements and Burleigh Bears Leagues Club along with bronze sponsor Power Sports Trophies.

Former Queensland State of Origin player Adrian Vowles hosted the event, with special guests including SEQ Finance Director Terry Sessarago, Titans General Manager of Football Anthony Laffranchi, A Grade coaches Stuart Wilkins (Burleigh), Ryan Gundry (Currumbin) and Nick Gleeson (Runaway Bay), junior representatives Israel Higgins (Currumbin) and Reece Walsh (Nerang) and the Rugby League Gold Coast board.

“It is a later start than usual with the Commonwealth Games here on the Gold Coast, but we are all looking forward to the season ahead,” Rugby League Gold Coast Chairman Peter Daley said.

Southport Tigers v Currumbin Eagles at Bilambil Sports, Sunday, April 22 – 10am

Southport Tigers

1. Beau Cordtz 2. Jonagh Gardiner 3. Naz Monsail 4. Dallas Donnelly 5. Callum Boomer 6. Kane Rudolph 7. Kobe Whalen 8. Denzil Ngati 9. Chris Thomas 10. Nathan Young 11. Tu Whakatihi-Paikea 12. Simione Ata 13. Justin McKenna 14. Corry Walker 15. Jaleel Seve 16. Hala Masila 17. Bronston Kennach

Coach: Luke Shaw

Currumbin Eagles

1. Hayden Alsop 2. Steven Elliott 3. Blake Anderson 4. Ken Allison (c) 5. Jake Smith 6. Jake Gleeson 7. Phil Rammage 8. Jarrod Gill 9. Josh Campbell 10. Dane Weston 11. Liam Donelly 12. Ryan Milligan 13. Daniel Webb 14. Wayne Ryburn 15. Kainoa Gudgeon 16. Ethan Williams 17. Chris Hodges 18. Pele Peletelese

Coach: Ryan Gundry

Burleigh Bears v Tweed Heads Seagulls at Bilambil Sports, Sunday, April 22 – 11.45am

Burleigh Bears

1. Ben Fritz 2. Jaxson Paulo 3. Te McDonald 4. Josh Berkers 5. Allan Lockwood 6. Jack Rogers 7. Matt Egan 8. Jerome Veve 9. Zae Wallace 10. Tyler Sparkes 11. Jesse Savage 12. Matt Robinson 13. Lorenzo Ma’afu 14. Marino Allen 15. Kaleb Fuimaono 16. Anthony Gray 17. Zac Akehurst

Coach: Stuart Wilkins

Tweed Heads Seagulls

1.Shaun Carney 2.Try Williams 3.Kody Parson 4.Regan Muir 5.Tevita Polau 6.Kurtis McDonald 7.Ethan Roberts 8.Jarrod Morfett 9.Jack Cook 10.Jordan Aiono 11. Hiale Roycroft 12. Harrison Hughes 13. Josh Harvey 14. Jason McGrady 15. Jacob Pottinger 16. Rory Lilies 17. Mitch Sharp

Coach: Kevin Campion

Bilambil Jets v Ormeau Shearers at Bilambil Sports, Sunday, April 22 – 1.30pm

Bilambil Jets

1.Alex Fitzhugh 2. Luke Jaeger 3. Jack Welsh 4. Hayden Tolland 5. Josh Quinn 6. Kobi Annand 7. Ben Black 8. Mitch Spackman (c) 9.Thomas Rowles 10. Brendan Welsh 11. Drew McCullough 12. Bailey Crompton 13. Harrison Burling 14. Thomas Plater 16. Ethan Crowe 17. Will Malone

Coach: Craig Rowles

Ormeau Shearers

1. Josh Walker 2. Jayden Alaiasa-Heu 3. Hirini Robin 4. Vince Mellars 5. Josh Tupou 6. Grayson Te Kiri 7. Nathan Wilson 8. Jaymz Douglas-Webb 9. Dion McClymont 10. Shane Blow (c) 11. Dion Belford-Laulu 12. Sini Allen 13. Trent Shield 14. Robert Parry 15. Pheonix Su’a 16. BJ Burgess 17. Kendall Tamaariki

Coach: Julius Kuresa

Tugun Seahawks v Runaway Bay Seagulls, Sunday, April 22– 3.15pm

Tugun Seahawks

1. Corey Morris 2.Savern Rapana 3.Angus Jones 4.Jabe Gamble 5.Jai Veli 6.Keanu Te Kiri 7.Paul Sheedy 8.Bruce Thomas 9.Tayler Sorensen 10.Trent Smith 11.Ayden Lee 12.Nick Harrold (c) 13.Ashley Harrison 14.Nat Swain 15.Blake Zillman 16.Nick Abood 17.Shane Gillham

Coach: Clint Barends

Runaway Bay Seagulls

1.Jack Mackin 2.Daniel Kelly 3.Jamie Anderson 4.Matt Gandy 5.Jake Powell 6.Falani Arkell 7.Conner Toia 8.Jah Nofoagatotoa 9.Henry Chan-Ting 10.Tane Rapira 11.Andrew Vela 12.Jesse Malcom 13.Blake Midson 14.Jenan Parrish 15.Kimihia Pakipaki-Hemopo 16.Dylan Pelo

Coach: Nick Gleeson

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners