You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Eacham juniors put on a show on grand final day

The Eacham District Junior Rugby League season came to a close on Saturday with the Under 6s to Under 10s playing their end of season Gala Day at Wondecla Oval, home ground of the Herberton Magpies.

The grand finals for the Under 12, Under 14 and Under 16 teams were played in good spirit at the ground, with the Under 14 game proving to be a close contest that took until extra time to decide.

Under 14 premiers
Under 14 premiers

Atherton ended up taking the title in that division for 2018 with a 26-22 win over Malanda, while in the Under 16 Ravenshoe / Herberton combined team (Mountain Boys) continued their undefeated run, winning the grand final 36-0 over a gallant Malanda team.

Jesse Delta of Innisfail Cowboys was the Under 12 player of the final, with his side winning 18-12 over Atherton Blue; while Luke Misener from Atherton took the award for the Under 14 game. Clayton Dalgety from Ravenshoe was the best in the Under 16 grand final.

Darcy Gillespie from Ravenshoe took home the Atherton Roosters Rising Star Award, with the Roosters also claiming the Club Champions trophy. 

Tim Robinson and David Gampe from Atherton, Shane Solinas from Malanda, and Bob Platt from Eacham JRL were awarded the Mike Hayes Memorial Award for Volunteers.

THe Junior Referee Encouragement Award was awarded to Jayen Ives.

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners