You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The 2012 Queensland Residents

The XXXX Queensland Residents team will carry more than 1130 games worth of Intrust Super Cup experience into Wednesday nights representative clash against New South Wales at ANZ Stadium.

Two players Ipswich centre Donald Malone and Burleigh Bears back-rower Tyron Haynes have played more than 100 games in Queenslands premier competition.

Malone has posted 98 career tries, while Haynes a Rockhampton junior who starred for Central before moving to the coast has also been a consistent try scorer.

He has posted 45 tries from 148 career games an impressive effort given that he has played the majority of his career in the forwards.

A number of other players including Jake Granville (Wynnum Manly), Nick Slyney (Redcliffe Dolphins) and Tim Glasby (Easts Tigers formerly Central) are also closing in on a century of Cup matches.

Granville is a big match player, having starred in the Seagulls two grand final victories at Suncorp Stadium.

He was also a member of the Queensland Residents team which came from behind to beat NSW in last years match in Brisbane.

The presence of Granville and classy replacement hooker Kurt Baptitse (Norths Devils) should take the heat off rookie Residents halves Cody Walker (Easts Tigers) and Jacob Fauid (Wynnum Manly).

The pair have big shoes to fill with Grant Rovelli and Luke Capewell having moved on.

However, both Walker and Fauid are in brilliant form for their respective clubs and have the ability to light up ANZ Stadium.

Walker scored three tries in the Tigers recent win over Norths Devils.

In just 30 games, Walker has posted a staggering 318 points for the Tigers with 29 tries and 101 goals.

Another player in the Residents team who has no problem scoring points is fullback Hezron Murgha (35 Cup tries).

The emerging Cowboys-contracted star joins Pride teammate Ben Spina in the Queensland line-up.

The Mackay Cutters will be represented by promising centre Curtis Rona and powerful forward Sam Hoare.

Granville and Fauid are joined by Seagulls teammates Peter Gubb and Ben Shea, with the quartet all named in the starting side.

Malone is one of three Ipswich players in Paul Greens 17-man outfit.

He will form a lethal combination with Jarrod McInally on the left, while the selection of in-form Jets back-rower Nathaniel Neale will provide Green with extra punch off the interchange bench.

Souths Logans Mathew Pitman will play a vital role in the middle for Queensland, particularly in the fiercely contested opening stages.

Wednesdays match kicks off at 5.45pm.

XXXX Queensland Residents (stats are based on overall records from ISC/Qld Cup

1. Hezron Murgha (68 games; 35 tries;1 field goal; 141 points)

2. Peter Gubb (37 games; 22 tries; 88 points)

3. Donald Malone (138 games; 98 tries; 74 goals; 540 points)

4. Curtis Rona (15 games; 12 tries; 48 points)

5. Jarrod McInally (51 games; 32 tries; 128 points)

6. Cody Walker (30 games; 29 tries; 101 goals; 318 points)

7. Jacob Fauid (70 games; 22 tries; 28 goals; 144 points)

8. Ben Shea (72 games; 8 tries; 32 points)

9. Jake Granville (87 games; 39 tries; 1 goal; 158 points)

10. Mathew Pitman (56 games; 14 tries; 56 points)

11. Tim Glasby (79 games; 28 tries; 112 points)

12. Tyron Haynes (148 games; 45 tries; 180 points)

13. Nick Slyney (96 games; 27 tries; 108 points)

14. Kurt Baptiste (34 games; 17 tries; 68 points)

15. Nathaniel Neale (54 games; 3 tries; 12 points)

16. Ben Spina (71 games; 15 tries; 60 points)

17. Sam Hoare (29 games; 3 tries; 12 points)

Coach: Paul Green (two ISC premierships with Wynnum Manly)

VB NSW Cup representative team:

1. Kevin Naiqama - Newcastle Knights

2. Josh Mantellato - Newcastle Knights

3. Peter Matautia - Newcastle Knights

4. Shaune Corrigan - North Sydney Bears

5. Taqele Naiyaravaro - Wests Tigers

6. Chad Townsend - Cronulla Sharks

7. Sam Williams - Mounties

8. Josh Starling - North Sydney Bears

9. Mitch Williams - Wyong Roos

10. Dayne Weston - Cronulla Sharks/Windsor Wolves

11. Will Matthews - Illawarra Cutters

12. Tinirau Arona - Newtown Jets

13. Paul Carter - Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs

14. Matt Hilder - Newcastle Knights

15. Sam Anderson - Windsor Wolves

16. Jason Clark - North Sydney Bears

17. Bennett Leslie - North Sydney Bears

18. Geoff Daniela - Windsor Wolves

19. Jake Foster - Mounties

Coach: Rip Taylor
Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners