You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The XXXX Queensland Rangers will hold an important opposed session against the Central Queensland Capras tonight as they step up preparations for Saturday’s representative clash against NSW Country in Rockhampton.

Rangers coach Paul Lowe is expecting a fierce contest against a strong Country Bulls team to be coached by Jamy Forbes.

The Country line-up includes players with NRL experience including Michael Lett and Bronx Goodwin.

The Queensland Rangers team has a country flavour to it as well, with a host of players coming from regional centres like Townsville, Gladstone, Bundaberg and Mackay. The south-east corner is represented by FOGS Cup and Brisbane Second Division players from Redcliffe, Easts, Souths Logan and Pine Rivers.

It all points to a fascinating match at Browne Park on Saturday night (5.30pm kick off).

Rangers have made one change, with Adam Marr coming into the front-row as a replacement for Caleb Hoffmann.

Lowe said a “good kick chase game” would be a priority as he attempts to steer the Rangers to another victory.

Queensland beat a NSW Ron Massey Cup representative team in a tight tussle in Lismore last year.

Lowe believes this game will be an even bigger test, but he’s backing his big guns to fire on the representative stage.

Rangers will again be led by Bundaberg’s Mat Templeman, who is preparing for his fifth match in Queensland colours at this level.

Templeman is a key attacking weapon for Rangers, along with fullback Michael Parker-Walshe and hooker Nathan Norford.

Saturday, July 12 @ Rockhampton, Browne Park

12.30pm: Under 19s - Queensland Outback v Rockhampton

2pm: Under 16 Maroon v NSW Country

3.30pm: Under 18 Maroon v NSW Country

5.30pm: Open rep - Queensland Rangers v NSW Country

* Under 16 Maroon will be coached by Craig Grauf, with Steve Sheppard guiding Under 18 Maroon.

XXXX Queensland Rangers

1. Michael Parker-Walshe (Townsville Brothers)
2. Brett Coutts (Redcliffe Dolphins)
3. Shaun Collins (Gladstone Valleys)
4. Mathew Templeman (c) (Bundaberg Brothers)
5. Hayden Crowley (University Saints, Townsville)
6. Billy Walters (Easts Tigers, Brisbane)
7. Phil Ramage (vc) (Whitsunday Brahmans)
8. Adam Marr (Pine Rivers Bears)
9. Nathan Norford (Townsville Brothers)
10. James Crombie (Redcliffe Dolphins)
11. Rhys Cooke (Tannum Sands Seagulls)
12. Brett Zgrajewski (Pine Rivers Bears)
13. Dwayne Craft (Easts Tigers, Brisbane)
14. Herschel Gideon (Souths Logan Magpies)
15. Ross Turi (Souths Sharks, Mackay)
16. Tuki Jackson (Whitsunday Brahmans)
17. Luke Lavelle (Easts Tigers, Brisbane)
18. Paul Ivan (Redcliffe Dolphins)
Coach: Paul Lowe (Norths Devils)

Assistant coach: Mark Shipway (Redcliffe Dolphins)
Manager: Chris Franklin (Toowoomba Clydesdales)
Trainer: Mark Winton (Townsville Stingers)

Country Bulls

Brett Kelly (Ballina NRRRL)
Todd Johnson (Casino NRRRL)
Bronx Goodwin (Shellharbour Grtr Sthrn)
Beau White (Wauchope North Coast)
Michael Lett (Picton Greater Southern)
Andrew Smith (Coffs Harbour Nth Coast)
Jono Dallas (Jamberoo Greater Southern)
Dylan Montgomery (Ballina NRRRL)
Andrew Battese (Ballina NRRRL)
Damien Paulissen (WarillaLakeSth Grt Sth)
Yileen Gordon ( Thirlmere Grtr Southern)
Carlos Kohu-Martin (Wauchope Nth Cst)
Daniel Ritter (Scone Greater Northern)
Tim Smith (Scone Greater Northern)
Hemi Mullen (Byron Bay NRRRL)
Aaron Henry (Warilla Lake Sth Gtr Sth)
Kane Montgomery (Ballina NRRRL)

Coach: Jamy Forbes