You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Jordan Rapana - QRL Intrust Super Cup - Rd 10 Souths Logan Magpies V Ipswich Jets at Davies Park, West End. 2pm Sunday May 4 2014. PHOTO: Scott Davis SMP IMAGES

Souths Logan fullback Jordan Rapana took a mark befitting an AFL full forward to lift the Magpies to a crucial Intrust Super Cup victory over the Norths Devils yesterday.

Rapana’s spectacular leap to pluck a high ball from the Devils’ grasps proved to be a decisive play for the Magpies, who went into the sheds with a 22-10 half-time lead at Davies Park.

The powerful fullback took the XXXX man of the match honours with his strong all-round game helping the Magpies to a 31-24 victory, keeping their semi-final ambitions flickering for at least another week.

But it was very nearly a case of another missed opportunity for the Magpies who came under attack by a rejuvenated Devils in the second half.

Souths Logan appeared to be coasting to victory when Ramon Filipine scored under the posts and Rapana added the conversion and a penalty goal for a 30-10 advantage.

Norths refused to surrender and when tenacious five-eighth Todd Murphy snuck over the line from close range, the Devils found a new gear.

Further tries to Chris Faust and Rogan Dean closed the gap to six points inside the final 10 minutes.

But the Magpies were able to repel the onslaught, with halfback Ben Jackson finally sealing the win with a 79th minute field goal.

Souths Logan will host the Easts Tigers this weekend at Davies Park, while Norths Devils travel to PNG to play the in-form Hunters.

SOUTHS LOGAN MAGPIES 31 (Jordan Rapana, Ramon Filipine, Mitch Cronin, Andrew Edwards, Dallas Anderson tries; Jordan Rapana 5 goals; Ben Jackson field goal) def NORTHS DEVILS 24 (Michael Lucas, Rogan Dean, Todd Murphy, Darren Nicholls, Chris Faust tries; Darren Nicholls 2 goals) at Davies Park.

Final teams

Souths Logan Magpies: 1. Jordan Rapana 2. Ramon Filipine 3. Grant Cooke 4. Tim Brooks 5. Luke Archer 18. Aotealofa Tuimavave 7. Ben Jackson 8. Luke Page 9. Mitch Cronin 10. Andrew Edwards 11. Darcy Wright 12. Patrick Mago 13. Luke Bateman 14. Jake Eden 20. Simanu Crichton 16. Zac Lemberg 17. Dallas Anderson

Norths Devils: 1. Shaun Carney 2. Michael Lucas 3. Joel Bailey 4. Kainga Turner 5. Rogan Dean 6. Todd Murphy (c) 7. Darren Nicholls 8. Mark Vaiao 9. Krys Freeman 10. Jarrod Wallace 11. Chris Faust 12. Jai Ingram 13/18. Byron Creighton 14. Sam Foster 16. Troyden Watene 15. Tristan Lumley 19. Nathan Lowrie 

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners