You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
DONALD MALONE - EASTS TIGERS -  PHOTO: SCOTT DAVIS - SMPIMAGES.COM - EASTS V WYNNUM MANLY, 21th SEPTEMBER 2014 - Action from the Queensland Rugby League Preliminary Final between the Easts Tigers and the Wynnum Manly Seagulls, being played at Langlands Park, Brisbane. This image is for Editorial Use Only. Any further use or individual sale of the image must be cleared by application to the Manager Sports Media Publishing (SMP Images). PHOTO : Scott Davis SMP IMAGES

By Matt Harris -

Prozone: Official Match Stats

Easts Tigers have roared their way into an Intrust Super Cup Grand Final showdown against Northern Pride after defeating Wynnum Manly Seagulls 30-12 in Sunday's Preliminary Final. 

The Tigers piled on five unanswered tries at one point during the second stanza with halfback Cody Walker the star, scoring one try and having a hand in three others to complement his first try just shy of the break. 

Locked at 6-all after a tight opening 40 minutes, the Tigers' rampaging second-half performance ensured they would book a place in Sunday's Suncorp Stadium decider against minor premiers Pride.

The Pride qualified for the grand final courtesy of their tense 8-7 victory over the Tigers in the Major Semi-Final with the September 28 showdown promising to be even more pulsating.

Easts will be seeking to make amends for last year's grand final defeat to Mackay, while the Pride will line up in their first decider since taking out the title in 2010.

After a tight opening tussle at Langlands Park, it was Wynnum who opened the scoring in the 33rd minute when departing Seagulls' hooker Jake Granville snuck over the line from dummy-half to hand the visitors a 6-0 lead after Matt Seamark's conversion.

The Tigers responded three minutes later when Jordan Kahu's grubber close to line was regathered by Cody Walker, who turned on the afterburners to streak away for a 95-metre try that levelled the score after Don Malone added the extras.

Two minutes into the second half a clever dummy and swivel by Walker allowed the influential halfback to evaded four Wynnum defenders and scoot over the line for his second try to take the score to 12-6.

Veteran centre Shane Neumann etched his name onto the scoresheet in the 48th minute with a try out wide after winger Jarrod McInally batted the Steeden back in his direction from a Walker bomb, taking the score to 16-6.

In the 55th minute a brilliantly-placed cross-field kick by Walker landed straight in the bread-basket of Tigers winger Richie Kennar who planted the ball over the line for Easts' fourth try of the afternoon to make it 20-6.

Walker was involved again in the 65th minute when he came inches close to planting the ball down on the chalk after a piercing run. However, his quick play-the-ball ensured Don Malone an easier passage to the line as he forced his way over to take Easts out to a 26-6 lead.

Hooker Tommy Butterfield sealed the result and Easts' place in the Intrust Super Cup Grand Final eight minutes from full-time when he muscled his way between two Wynnum players to score and take the Tigers out to an unassailable 30-6 advantage.

Jake Granville scored a consolation try for Wynnum five minutes from time to take the score to 30-12 at the final whistle.

EASTS TIGERS 30 (Cody Walker 2, Shane Neumann, Richie Kennar, Tommy Butterfield, Donald Malone tries; Donald Malone 3 goals) def WYNNUM MANLY SEAGULLS 12 (Jake Granville 2 tries; Matthew Seamark 2 goals) at Langlands Park.

Final teams

Easts Tigers: 1. Cameron Munster 2. Jarrod McInally 3. Shane Neumann 4. Hymel Hunt 5. Richie Kennar 6. Jacob Fauid 7. Cody Walker 8. Steven Thorpe (c) 9. Tommy Butterfield 10. Matthew Zgrajewski 11. Kenny Bromwich 12. Troy Giess 13. Jacob Ling 14. Liam McDonald 15. Felise Kaufusi 16. Donald Malone 17. Joel Romelo

Wynnum Manly Seagulls: 1. Daniel Ogden 2. Peter Gubb 3. Matt Grieve 4. Mitchell Buckett 5. Benaiah Bowie 6. Jordan Kahu 7. Matthew Seamark 8. Ben Shea 9. Jake Granville 10. Timothy Natusch (c) 11. Jon Grieve 12. John Te Reo 13. Mitchell Frei 14. Graham Clark 15. Chris McLean 16. Tanu Wulf 17. Dylan Smith 

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners