You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

THE Brisbane Second Division Rugby League celebrated their season recently, with their annual presentation night capping off a successful year for the competition.

Terry Kepu, from Logan Brothers, was named the Ted Beaumont Medal Winner for the Brisbane Second Division Rugby League Player of the competition for 2014. Kepu played in the Southside 1 competition.

In a case of sibling success on the evening – Casey Karklis (Souths Logan) won the Brisbane and District Women’s Rugby League Division 1 award, while brother Ashley Karklis (North Stradbroke Island) won the Southside 4 award.

In other awards, Cameron Joyce from Bulimba Valleys and Trent Shield from Mt Gravatt were named joint winners of the Glen Oswald Representative Player of the Year and Elisha Edwards was named the Nev Rotherham Brisbane Second Division Volunteer of the Year.

In a special tribute, the Gutugutuwai family were presented with a memento of the special jersey worn by the Brisbane Second Division representative teams in the XXXX South East Queensland Chairman’s Challenge as a tribute to Janice Gutugutuwai, former administration officer of the Brisbane Second Division, when they won the Challenge three days before her passing in May. 

The Division also farewelled long-time chairman Mick Tierney, who announced his retirement following 38 years of service with the League.

The full list of winners and runners-up was:

Southside 1
Winner               Terry Kepu (Logan Brothers)
Runner-up          Cameron Joyce (Bulimba Valleys)

Northside 1  
Winner               Tyrone Lockrey (Aspley)
Runner-up          James Crawford (Gaters)

BDWRL Div 1                      
Winner               Casey Karklis (Souths Logan)
Runner-up          Stephanie Hancock (Souths Logan)

Under 20                            
Winner               Matthew St Ledger (Norths Juniors)
Runner-up          Jordan Ive ((Mt Gravatt)

Southside 2                       
Winner                 Corey McEwan (Mt Gravatt)
Runner-up          Terence Hill (Bears)
Runner-up          Luke Hollis (Bears)

Northside 2                      
Winner               Calum Flynn (Samford)
Runner-up          Zac Lister (Pine Central Holy Spirit)

BDWRL Div 2                      
Winner                 Kirianna Nukunuku (Waterford)
Runner-up          Ngamoko Hiku ((Capalaba)

Southside 3                       
Winner                 Sualauvi Ah Kuio (Slacks Creek)
Runner-up          Luke Bell (Bulimba Valleys)

Northside 3                      
Winner               Fred Tuua (Pine Central Holy Spirit)
Runner-up          Lucas Maloney (Deception Bay Bombers)

Southside 4                       
Winner               Ashley Karklis (North Stradbroke Island)
Runner-up          Joseph Poa (Logan Wanderers)

Check out the BSDRL website at   

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners