You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Aaron Whitchurch - QRL Intrust Super Cup - Round 13 - Burleigh Bears V Redcliffe Dolphins at Pizzey Park, Burleigh. Sunday May 25, 2014. PHOTO : Charles Knight - SMP IMAGES.COM

DOLPHINS centre Aaron Whitchurch held off a fast finishing Jon Green to claim to the 2014 Peter Leis Medal for the Dolphins Player of the Year.

The prestigious medal is decided by three judges who each award points on a 3-2-1 basis after each competition match.

The Queensland Residents centre has had a stellar 2014 season for the Dolphins, but voting didn't go all his own way.

After the first set of votes were revealed after round 7, it was Adrian Davis sitting on top of the polling with 22 votes.

Close behind Davis was Jake Marketo 17, Jon Green 14, Stewart Mills 11 followed by Whitchurch and David Hala on 8.

However, when the next group of voting was revealed after round 14 the big centre was on top of the leader board with 27 votes.

Hot on his heels were Marketo on 26, Davis 25, Green 23 and youngster Paul Byrnes who came from nowhere to poll 18 votes.

Fellow Broncos Cameron Cullen (16) and David Hala (15) were also making a move up the ladder keeping everyone honest.

After round 20 it seemed like a matter of how far Whitchurch would win by, the representative centre had polled another 23 votes to sit well clear on the ladder with 50 votes.

Sitting in second spot were Jake Marketo and Adrian Davis on 31 with Green on 27 and the vastly improved Oliver Regan on 26.

Co-captain Green's outstanding finish to the season saw him poll 30 out of a maximum 54 votes in the final six rounds, but it wasn't enough to rein in Whitchurch who had advanced his tally to 67 giving him a 10 vote win.

In third place Marketo and Davis still couldn't be split on 37 and Cullen rounding out the top five on 34 votes.

It was a big night for Whitchurch who also picked up the Tony Obst Trophy for the Intrust Super Cup Players Player award.

Redcliffe Dolphins Award Winners

Peter Leis Medal for Player of the Year: Aaron Whitchurch
Tony Obst Trophy for the Intrust Super Cup Players Player: Aaron Whitchurch
FOGS Cup Best & Fairest: Dalton Phillips
FOGS Cup Best Back: Alex Bishop
Dick “Tosser” Turner Colt of the Year: Tyson Cleal
FOGS Colts Best & Fairest: Hayden Hansen
FOGS Colts Best Back: Rinsma Saueha
Don McLennan Trophy Player of the Match in a Grand Final: Josh Beehag
Des Webb Memorial Clubman of the Year: Bernie "Killer" Smith
Wally Fullerton-Smith Hit of the Year: Richard Skelton
Try of the Year: Glen Ellis

Full voting for the Peter Leis Medal was:

67 - Aaron Whitchurch
57 - Jon Green
37 - Adrian Davis, Jake Marketo
34 - Cameron Cullen
31 - Oliver Regan
21 - David Hala
20 - Paul Byrnes, Tom Geraghty
11 - Stewart Mills, Zach Strasser
10 - Dalton Phillips
9 - Tyson Cleal
8 - Sarafu Fatiaki, James Ackerman, Tui Samoa
6 - Martin Cordwell, Martin Hatfield
4 - Tom Rowles, Con Mika, Jared Cherry, Hayden Hansen
3 - Caleb Hoffmann
2 - Brett Coutts, Joe Bradley, Liam Georgetown, Harley Aiono

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners