You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Timothy Lomai - QRL Intrust Super Cup - Round 12 Norths Devils V PNG Hunters at Bishop Park, Nundah. 2.00pm Sunday May 18, 2014.  PHOTO: Scott Davis - SMP IMAGES

PNG Hunters release 

PNG Hunters will start their 2015 campaign with a four-week off-season training camp this Saturday in Kokopo.

The players will break to celebrate Christmas and New Years with their families before returning on January 3 to prepare for their second season in the Intrust Super Cup competition.

The 2015 competition kicks off in March under a new 14-team format with the inclusion of the Townsville Blackhawks into the Intrust Super Cup. 

PNG Hunters made a memorable debut this year creating quite a stir, eventually missing out on a top-five spot by a single point with many loyal fans hoping they can go one step further in season 2015.

The club will only undertake one pre-season trial against the Jets in Ipswich on Saturday, February 21.

The PNG Hunters will launch their season at a function in Port Moresby on Saturday, February 28.

The majority of the squad from the inaugural season has been retained, with exciting 6’4”, 105kg, 20-year old winger/centre Kato Ottio also added for the 2015 season.

Head coach Michael Marum said he was excited about the upcoming season.

“We have a longer preparation than last year with a fairly settled squad who know what to expect. I’m excited about the new guys coming in and they have a chance to put their hands up to be included in our final squad for 2015," Marum said.

"We will be working very hard in the four-week period and again from January to be fitter, stronger and faster than last year. There will certainly be plenty of competition for spots which is a healthy position as a club to be in.”

A 28-member train on squad will take part in the off-season camp with the squad to be trimmed at the completion of the camp:

Off-season training camp squad is:

Adex Wera
Adam Korave
Brandy Peter
Edward Goma
Israel Eliab
Lawrence Tu’u
Noel Zemming
Roger Laka
Sebastine Pandia
Thompson Teteh
Timothy Lomai
Wartovo Puara
Willie Minoga
Stanton Albert
Dion Aiye
Esau Siune
George Benson
Kato Ottio
Henry Wan
Enoch Maki
David Lapua
Stargoth Amen
Warren Glare
Atte Bina Wabo
Ase Boas
Jay Jay Garison
Bland Abavu
Philemon Kimsive


Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners