You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Tyrone McCarthy try! - NRL State Championship - Penrith Panthers V Northern Pride at ANZ Stadium, Sydney. 3.55pm Sunday October 5, 2014. PHOTO: Dave Tease - SMP IMAGES

Pictured: Tyrone McCarthy scoring a try for the Northern Pride in the NRL State Championship final.

Tully brothers Regan and Jared Verney are among the Cairns District Rugby League signings pushing for places in the Northern Pride’s 2015 team.

With the likes of Blake Leary, Shaun Nona and Davin Crampton having broken into the NRL ranks, the Pride have opportunities for a new contingent to make their mark.

The Verney brothers loom as strong contenders for berths in Joe O’Callaghan’s new-look squad.

“As a club, the Pride have very strong links with the CDRL, and we openly have a scouting policy in the competition, regularly monitoring talented players,” O’Callaghan said.

“It is through this process that we identified Regan and Jared as potential Pride players, and we’re now delighted to secure their signatures for the 2015 season.

“Regan was absolutely superb for Tully last year in the halves, and with Shaun Nona moving on, it’s a perfect fit for us to bring in someone of his class and direction at halfback.

“Jared is a different type of player to his brother, and is a livewire fullback who knows how to find the tryline, while also being solid in defence.”

Atherton’s Dean McGilvray and Kangaroos’ Bradley Stephen are the Pride’s other CDRL signings.

Northern Pride

Gains: Vaipuna Tia-Kilifi (Penrith Panthers), Graham Clark (Wynnum-Manly Seagulls), Dean McGilvray (Atherton Roosters), Luke George (Bradford Bulls), Ben Jeffries (Bradford Bulls), Denzel King (Canterbury Bulldogs NYC), Bradley Stephen (Cairns Kangaroos), Sam Pau (North Queensland Cowboys NYC), Regan Verney (Tully Tigers), Jared Verney (Tully Tigers)

Losses: Blake Leary (Manly Sea Eagles), Shaun Nona (Melbourne Storm), Davin Crampton (Gold Coast Titans), Tyrone McCarthy (Hull Kingston Rovers), Latu Fifita (Workington Town).

* Ben Spina signed with NRL affiliate North Queensland Cowboys

Coach: Joe O’Callaghan (replaces Jason Demetriou)

Home Ground: Barlow Park Cairns

2014 Finish: Intrust Super Cup premiers & NRL State Champions.

Intrust Super Cup minor premiers: 20 Wins, 4 Losses

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners