You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Josh Benjamin - Intrust Super Cup Round 14 - Easts Tigers V Mackay Cutters at Langlands Park, Coorparoo. 2.00pm Sunday June 1, 2014.  PHOTO: Scott Davis - SMP IMAGES

IN a major coup for the Mackay Cutters, former North Queensland Cowboys, New Zealand Warriors and Salford Reds’ forward Steve Rapira has signed with the club. It will continue a rugby league career which has included 57 games in the NRL and UK Super League.

Samoan Test hooker and 2013 Warriors NYC Player of the Year Michael Sio has also signed up with the club and is looking to make his mark in the Intrust Super Cup competition and boost his chances of securing an NRL contract in the near future.

They will be joined by a number of promising local signings – highlighting the pathway available to players in northern Queensland.

The movement between rugby league’s premier second tier competition and the United Kingdom continues, with Karl “the Lumberjack” Davies, Chris Ulugia and Dave Petersen all joining the Bradford Bulls for season 2015.

Mackay Cutters

Gains: Steve Rapira (Salford), Michael Sio (NZ Warriors), Sam Clune (Thirroul Butchers), Cameron Cullen (Redcliffe Dolphins), Brad Lupi (North Sydney), Rex Johnson (Souths Logan), Joss Boyton (Muswellbrook), Jordan Pereira (Willagee Bears), Corey Cox (Dubbo CYMS), Matt Hackett (Sarina), Zack Walker (Moranbah), Buchanan Rawhiti (Moranbah), Brendan Treston (Souths Mackay), Alex Farrell (Souths Mackay), Zac Radel (Wests Mackay)

Losses: Dan Beasley (Townsville Blackhawks), Karl Davies (Bradford), Chris Ulugia (Bradford), Dave Petersen (Bradford), Dean Webster (released), James Uhatafe (released), Zac Dalton (Mackay Wests), Michael Koko (Melbourne), Josh Benjamin (Redcliffe), Dan Murphy (Sunshine Coast), Brentt Warr (Easts Tigers), Doug Hewitt (Tweed Heads Seagulls), Ross Bella (Cowboys NYC), Jason Schirnack (NT)

Coach: Kim Williams

Home Ground: Stadium Mackay

2014 Finish: 9th (11 wins, 13 losses)

Intrust Super Cup Gains and Losses:

Sunshine Coast Falcons
Souths Logan Magpies
Northern Pride
Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Burleigh Bears
Redcliffe Dolphins
Norths Devils