You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

New season welcomes new club, new goals

The Cyril Connell Cup and Mal Meninga Cup competitions are ready to kick-off once again, with the cream of the state’s young talent to test their skills in the highly-regarded competitions.

Download the Team Lists for Round 1 here

There are a few changes to the structure this year – with the inclusion of a new team into the mix.

In a first for the Queensland Rugby League, two Victorian teams will contest this year’s competitions.

Drawn to play in Pool A of both the Connell (Under 16) and Meninga (Under 18) Cups, Victorian Rugby League’s two representative sides will go head-to-head against those from Queensland’s south east.

In another change, Ipswich have moved under the umbrella of the Intrust Super Cup team and will play as the Ipswich Jets.

Pool B features teams from the northern, central and south west regions of Queensland.

Last year was one to savour for the northern teams, with Townsville Stingers beating all before them to not only head into this season as reigning Mal Meninga Cup champions; but as national title holders as well.

The Northern Pride will also be looking forward to the challenge of going back-to-back and retaining the Cyril Connell Cup title.

Pool A

Easts Tigers
Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Gold Coast Green
Norths Devils
Ipswich Jets
Gold Coast White
Redcliffe Dolphins
Souths Logan Magpies
Victorian Rugby League

Pool B

Mackay Cutters
Townsville Stingers
Northern Pride
Central Crows
Sunshine Coast Falcons
Toowoomba Clydesdales
CQ Capras

This year’s finals series will be played in April and May; with the National Final to take place in Sydney. The top two teams from each pool (based on competition points) will progress to the final series as outlined below.

Cyril Connell and Mal Meninga Cup finals series

Week 1 (April 25-26) – Semi Finals
Game 1                Pool A (Qualifier 1)          v              Pool B (Qualifier 2)
Game 2                Pool B (Qualifier 1)          v              Pool A (Qualifier 2)

Week 2 (May 2-3) – State Final
Game 3                Winner Game 1                v              Winner Game 2

Week 3 (May 16-17) – National Final
Game 4                Winner Game 3                v              NSW State Winner


See the Referees Appointments via the Get Involved tag.

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners