You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

A week after conceding 40 points against the PNG Hunters, the Souths Logan Magpies have turned the tables to put on a points scoring spree of their own.

The turnaround was witnessed by about 1500 country footy fans at Miriam Vale, as the Magpies tore through the Central Queensland Capras on their way to a convincing 48-12 Round 2 Intrust Super Cup victory.

Souths Logan got away to the best possible start with Herschel Gideon crossing for the opening try of the match in the ninth minute.

CQ hit back three minutes later, but that would prove to be the last time they would trouble the scorers again until late in the game as the Magpies took complete control.

Souths Logan went into the half-time break with a commanding 24-6 lead following further tries to Travis Wadell, Matt Trnka and Josh Damen.

The Capras were guilty of making some uncharacteristic mistakes at the back – and the Magpies were good enough to cash in – much to the delight of coach Josh Hannay.

Having disposed of the Burleigh Bears with a controlled second half performance last week, the Capras were eager for another strong finish in the final 40 minutes.

But their comeback prospects were almost immediately snuffed out when Scott Doyle strolled over for an easy try in the second half.

The Magpies went on with the job to notch an impressive victory, their first of the 2015 season.

Central posted a late consolation try to Garrett Field and will now look to bounce back when they host the Ipswich Jets next weekend.

SOUTHS LOGAN MAGPIES 48 (Josh Damen, Samisoni Vaioleti, Matt Trnka, Herschel Gideon, Mitch Garbutt, Scott Doyle, Travis Waddell, Sam Gardel tries; Scott Doyle 7, Dylan Taikato-Simpson goals) def CQ CAPRAS 12 (Russell Webber, Garrett Field tries; Matt Minto 2 goals) at Gary Larson Oval, Miriam Vale.

Final teams

Souths Logan Magpies: 1. Josh Damen 2. Samisoni Vaioleti 3. Dallas Anderson 4. Tim Brooks 5. Matt Trnka 6. Dylan Taikato-Simpson 18. Rhys Jacks 8. Andrew Edwards (c) 9. Herschel Gideon 10. Mitch Garbutt 11. Scott Doyle 12. Kailem Perkins 13. Joe Boyce 14. Travis Waddell 15. Sam Gardel 16. Graham Levu 17. Zac Lemberg 

CQ Capras: 1. Javarn White 2. Tarrant Mariner 3. Russell Webber 4. Ian Webster 19. Ha'ofanga Rabakewa 6. Matt Minto 7. Russ Aitken 8. Peter Gallen 9. Josh Mitchell 10. Fabian Soutar 12. Guy Williams (c) 13. Gavin Hiscox 14. Aaron Watson 21. Gerrard Tema 16. Chris Stolk 24. Andrew Dale 25. Garrett Field