You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
MATTHEW GRIEVE ( WYNNUM MANLY) - WYNNUM MANLY SEAGULLS v SOUTHS LOGAN MAGPIES - QUEENSLAND RUGBY LEAGUE INTRUST SUPER CUP. 29th March 2015, Action from round 4 of the 2015 Intrust Super Cup rugby league clash played at BMG KOUGARI PARK, WYNNUM, between the Wynnum Manly Seagulls v Souths Logan Magpies. Photo: WENDY VAN DEN AKKER SMP Images / QRL Media

Wynnum Manly Seagulls second-rower Mitchell Frei pushed his claims for a second Queensland Residents jersey in as many years after a two-try haul against the Souths Logan Magpies yesterday.

Frei posted the opening points of the BMD Kougari Oval clash following a bust by winger Peter Gubb.

The early points set the tone for the Seagulls, who went on to record a 38-20 victory over the Magpies.

The visiting Magpies didn’t shirk the task though, applying plenty of pressure in the first half to level at 4-4 when Travis Waddell crossed.

Greg Eden restored ascendancy for the Seagulls when he scored from an inside ball, but it was soon all locked up again at 10-10 when Souths winger Samisoni Vaioleti ran 90m against the run of play.

On the stroke of half-time, Wynnum Manly cracked the game open when Matt Grieve planted the ball down after brilliant lead up work from Daniel Ogden and Patrick Templeman.

The 16-10 half-time lead in favour of the Seagulls was looking even better five minutes into the second half when Frei combined with Templeman to score his second.

Further Wynnum tries to Brendan McKinnon and Ben Shea put the result beyond doubt, erasing memories of the Seagulls’ second half fade out against the Mackay Cutters in Round 3.

Wynnum Manly sit in fifth spot heading into this weekend’s Round 5 game against Townsville.

Josh Hannay’s Magpies play Easts Tigers in the Channel 9 match of the round.

To view the gallery click here.

WYNNUM MANLY SEAGULLS 38 (Mitchell Frei 2, Daniel Ogden, Matthew Grieve, Greg Eden, Ben Shea, Brendan McKinnon tries; Matthew Seamark 5 goals) def SOUTHS LOGAN MAGPIES 20 (Josh Damen, Samisoni Vaioleti, Travis Waddell, Herschel Gideon tries; Scott Doyle 2 goals) at BMD Kougari Oval.

Final teams

Wynnum Manly Seagulls: 1. Daniel Ogden 2. Peter Gubb 3. Matthew Grieve 4. Mitchell Buckett 5. Greg Eden 6. Patrick Templeman 7. Matthew Seamark (c) 8. Ben Shea 9. Alehana Mara 10. Aaron Rockley 11 Brendon Gibb 12. Jon Grieve 13. Mitchell Frei 14. Brendan McKinnon 15. John Te Reo 16. Tanu Wulf 17. Mitchell Dodds 

Souths Logan Magpies: 1. Josh Damen 2. Samisoni Vaioleti 3. Dallas Anderson 4. Tim Brooks 5. Matt Trnka 6. Dylan Taikato-Simpson 7. Travis Waddell 8. Andrew Edwards (c) 9. Herschel Gideon 10. Mitch Garbutt 11. Scott Doyle 12. Kailem Perkins 13. Joe Boyce 15. Sam Gardel 16. Graham Levu 17. Zac Lemberg 18. Ollie Olds