You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Sore but not sorry are how the Mackay Cutters are feeling after beating regional rivals, the Central Queensland Capras at Browne Park on Saturday night.

Absolute Enterprises Mackay Cutters coach Kim Williams said the boys were exhausted after the 14-12 win.

“They played a heap of defence, so we were really happy to get away with the two points,” he said.

“We did that much tackling in the first half, I probably haven't seen our guys that tired at the end of the game as I did on Saturday night.”

Williams said his team defended four or five sets in a row but still held on.

“It's a tough trip as you play on the same day you travel,” he said.

What made the Cutters victory even more impressive was none of their Cowboys-aligned players were in the team.

“It was a morale and confidence boosting game especially without those guys,” Williams said.

Michael Sio, who played 75 minutes, was named man-of-the match and Williams said he was a “quality” player who had been getting better each week.

The Cutters sit third on the ladder after their five-game streak, behind Townsville – the only team they have lost to this season and the Ipswich Jets (points differential).

“We're not getting carried away,” he said.

“There's a really good feeling around the camp, everyone's happy with the start, but we're certainly keeping a lid on it.”

After such a brutal game and with a trip to Papua New Guinea this weekend, Williams said recovery was particularly important.

“It will be a normal week for us, the boys will be in for recovery (today) which will be an important thing,” he said.

Mackay has some injury concerns from the game with Josh Chudleigh injuring an ankle and Sam Clune hurting his knee.

It's hoped both will be available this weekend.

Mackay Daily Mercury: Cutters make it five in a row after Capras win

MACKAY CUTTERS 14 (Buchanan Rawhiti, Cameron Cullen tries; Liam Taylor 3 goals) def CQ CAPRAS 12 (Jacob Gagai, Ray Ebsworth tries; Ray Ebsworth, Ian Webster goals) at Browne Park.

Final teams:

CQ Capras: 1. Javarn White 2. Jacob Gagai 3. Russell Webber 4. Tarrant Mariner 5. Ray Ebsworth 6. Matt Minto 7. Mark Johnstone 8. Peter Gallen 9. Ian Webster 10. Fabian Soutar 11. Garrett Field 12. Guy Williams (c) 13. Gavin Hiscox 14. Josh Mitchell 17. Josh Johnstone 16 Chris Stolk 24. Andrew Dale

Mackay Cutters: 1. Sam Clune 2. Jordan Pereira 3. Joss Boyton 4. Justin Tavae 5. Buchanan Rawhiti 6. Cameron Cullen 7. Liam Taylor 8. Ryan Kinlyside 14. Michael Sio 11. Tyson Martin 12. Kelvin Nielsen 13. Chris Gesch (c) 10. Brad Lupi 15. Aleki Falepaini 16. Brenden Treston 17. Mitch Day 18. Josh Osborne