You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Photo: Robert Redfern

The Inland Northern Widebay Representative team was selected at Fred Kassulke Oval in Nanango on Saturday.

The Inland Northern Widebay team will play in the 47th Battalion Carnival to be held in Roma on May 2-3.

In its third year, the selection of this representative team is round-robin based and is played between the South Burnett Eagles, the Central Burnett Brumbies and the Northern Districts Bulldogs.  It was South Burnett’s year to host the trials as they have previously been held in Monto and Miriam Vale.

The first game saw the South Burnett Eagles off to a flying start winning 30–0 against the Central Burnett Brumbies.  However, the score line was not indicative of the intensity of the match in the first half with the Eagles going to the break up by only 12–0. 

With a 20 minute break between games, the second game saw the Northern District Bulldogs with a runaway finish in the second half against the Central Burnett Brumbies to win 50–6.

That left a final showdown between the Eagles and the Bulldogs – which was to be the game of the evening. The Eagles once again started strong and went to the break leading the Bulldogs 22–6. 

The second half saw some big hits and great defence by both sides, but in the end the Eagles emerged triumphant 34–12.

The Inland Northern Widebay team was announced on the grounds after the last game:

1. Danny Moran (Northern Districts), 2. Tua Peti (South Burnett), 3. Jayden Jarvis (South Burnett), 4. Sekope Tua (Northern Districts), 5. David Lisala (Northern Districts), 6. Alexander Speedy (South Burnett), 7. Andrew Filo (Northern Districts), 8. Johannsi  Vi (Northern Districts), 9. Luke Hedges (South Burnett), 10. Sione Moi Moi (Northern Districts), 11. Peni Taukalau (Northern Districts), 12. Shane Cliff (South Burnett), 13. Tim McIntosh (Northern Districts), 14. Manu Halasima (Northern Districts), 15. Shane Carter (Central Burnett), 16. Solomon Vi Mahe (Central Burnett), 17. Lewis Hopkins (South Burnett), 18. Blake Fiengola (Northern Districts), 19. Siopau Taufa (South Burnett), 20. Blake Popp (Central Burnett).

Coach: Scott Holding

Manager: Col Pidgeon

Sports Trainer: Craig Robinson

League Safe: Jude Pafit

League Safe: Tim Blackley

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners