You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

A doctor and team coaching/medical staff assess Rod Griffin's thumb injury in camp on the Gold Coast.

XXXX Queensland Residents forward Rod Griffin has today been ruled out of Sunday’s representative match against New South Wales at Tapout Energy Stadium, Langlands Park.

Burleigh’s Mark Ioane will replace the Ipswich Jets star, who made the decision to withdraw following today’s opposed session against Tonga on the Gold Coast.

After having his thumb injury examined by a doctor on Monday night, Griffin and the team’s coaching and medical staff have held numerous consultations.

“Rod made the decision to pull out,” Queensland coach Aaron Zimmerle said.

“He didn’t want to get a whack on it early in the game and run the risk of leaving the team a player short.

“It is very unselfish of him … it’s all about the group. We want to be known as a group which puts others first, and his decision certainly reflects that ethos.”

Ben Spina, a key member of the Northern Pride’s two titles last year, has today been confirmed as the XXXX Queensland Residents captain.

Sunshine Coast Falcons playmaker Ben Hampton is the vice-captain.

Representative program for Sunday, May 3 @ Tapout Energy Stadium, Langlands Park, Coorparoo:

U16 Cyril Connell Cup Final – 10am

U18 Mal Meninga Cup Final – 11.45am

XXXX Queensland Residents v VB New South Wales Cup – 1.40pm

*Coverage from 1.30pm on Channel 9/WIN/NBN


Adults: $10.
Concession: $5.
Children free (under 18). 

XXXX Queensland Residents

1. Hezron Murgha (Northern Pride)
2. Kalifa Faifai Loa (Tweed Heads Seagulls)
3. Aaron Whitchurch (Redcliffe Dolphins)
4. Kyle Feldt (Townsville Blackhawks)
5. Javid Bowen (Northern Pride)
6. Ben Hampton (Sunshine Coast Falcons) - vice-captain
7. Shaun Nona (Easts Tigers)
8. Daniel Beasley (Townsville Blackhawks)
9. Tom Butterfield (Easts Tigers)
10. Mitchell Garbutt (Souths Logan Magpies)
11. Mitchell Frei (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)
12. Kenny Bromwich (Sunshine Coast Falcons)
13. Ben Spina (Northern Pride) - captain

14. Matt Parcell (Ipswich Jets)
15. Davin Crampton (Tweed Heads Seagulls)
16. Patrick Kaufusi (Northern Pride)
17. Mark Ioane (Burleigh Bears)
18. Cameron Cullen (Mackay Cutters)

Coach: Aaron Zimmerle


Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners