You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Mareeba celebrate their Under 14 title.

The Cairns District Junior Rugby League season has drawn to a close with an impressive 14 grand final games played at Jones Park on Saturday.

The Cairns District JRL encompasses teams from Mossman to the north, Mareeba to the west and Tully to the south.

The finals format introduced this year saw additional teams playing, with the CDJRL Cup in all competition grades (12s-16s) as well as the Plate in the Under 12s, 13s and 14s grades.

In addition to finals games, Under 16 girls played an exhibition game and long serving volunteers were acknowledged for their contribution to junior rugby league.

Innisfail Brothers JRL President, Rod Bradtke, was presented with the Cairns District JRL Volunteer of the Year award, with Kay Slade and Lisa Rapira having the newly-opened food court area named in their honour.

Media Release: Boost for Jones Park Complex

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners