You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
U18 Mal Meninga Cup State Final - Easts Tigers V Townsville Stingers at Tapout Energy Stadium, Coorparoo. 11.45am Sunday May 3, 2015.    PHOTO: SMP IMAGES.COM

The Townsville Blackhawks are happy to announce the final 2016 Cyril Connell Under 16 and Mal Meninga Under 18 Cup Squads.

The coaching staff led by Allan Petersen (CC) and Dick Walsh (MM) have had their squads working hard since November last year with hopes high that they will be able to continue their 2015 dominance in season 2016.

Formerly known as the Townsville Stingers, the Cyril Connell and Mal Meninga teams were the stand-out sides in their respective competitions last year and were victorious in their state grand finals, only to fall at the final hurdle to Cronulla in both National Finals.

The two teams will compete under the Blackhawks name in season 2016, bringing the Townsville youngsters into line with the rest of the state competition.

Cyril Connell Coach Petersen is looking to build on the accomplishments of season 2015 and believes he has the right players to do just that.

“The squad this year is very talented, we look to have another successful year and aim to develop these players into future Intrust Super Cup Blackhawks”.

Under 18 coach Walsh was equally optimistic.

“I can't be more pleased with the squad we have got together for 2016. I know the players and coaching staff alike are excited for what the season ahead will bring,” he said.

“We have a very talented and dedicated playing group that prides itself on hard work. We will focus on each game as it comes and will not put undue pressure on ourselves in regards to what has been achieved in previous years in the Mal Meninga Cup. “

You can see these two squads in action this Saturday (February 6) in their first trial as they take to the field against the Northern Pride in both grades prior to the Intrust Super Cup trial between the two clubs.

The Cyril Connell match is due to kick off at 2.30pm and the Mal Meninga match at 4pm at Jack Manski Oval, Kirwan.



Manfred Baboa

Jack Althaus

McKenzie Baker

Brett Anderson

Kade Banset

Regan Baker

James Barclay

Nathan Barrett

Cameron Bateup

Jacob Burke

Adam Cook

Michael Carroll

Kalum Delacor

Oscar Carter

Curtis Dempsey

Julian Christian

Ty Everett

Jake Clifford

Mitch Fogarty

Reuben Cotter

Joshua Hanlon

Duarne Dempsey

Kelsey Hesp

Coby Gibbs

Jake Hindom

Jack Glossop

Oliver Jenkens

Lope Goidubu

Quinlan Kelly

Corey Horsburgh

Darian Lampton

Marshall Hudson

Harrison Leslie

Thomas Kenny

Isaac Locke

Samuel Martin-Savage

Jackson Lott

Thomas McCagh

Kieran Moran

Reece McKenzie-O'Brien

Martin O'Brien

Emery Pere

Hayden Saltner

Enemarki Shibasaki

Hamilton Taia

Caleb Souter

Adam Whyte

Yaza Stephen

Mitchell Zohn

Enari Tuala


Kurt Wiltshire

Coach: Allan Petersen

Coach: Dick Walsh


Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners