You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Nafe Seluini - Intrust Super Cup Round 25 - Burleigh Bears V Easts Tigers at Pizzey Park, Burleigh Heads. 2.00pm Sunday August 24, 2014. PHOTO: Kylie Cox - SMP IMAGES

Fans of the Intrust Super Cup can expect to see a number of familiar faces taking to the field at this weekend's Auckland Nines tournament which kicks off tomorrow.

The NRL clubs have named some exciting squads for the two-day event kicking off this weekend, with a number of 2015 competition graduates making the grade – joining players who earned their stripes playing the competition in previous seasons.

In the Huna pool, former Burleigh back Henare Wells has been named for hometown team the NZ Warriors, while star in the making Matt Parcell will make his Sea Eagles debut.

Waiheke will see former Burleigh rake Nafe Seluini – who was signed by the Sunshine Coast Falcons in the off-season – play for the Melbourne Storm; joining a number of players who have played for the Easts Tigers and the Sunshine Coast Falcons.

The Rangitoto pool has seen the Wests Tigers have selected former Jets prop Rod Griffin while the NQ Cowboys have a strong Intrust Super Cup contingent named in their squad, including young gun Coen Hess who played for the Cutters.

In Phia, the Dragons have announced former Tweed Heads back Kalifa Fai-Fai Loa will play, while the Titans have named 2016 Seagulls signing Shannon Walker will get his opportunity to impress at the tournament.

The Sharks and Raiders have both named two stars from the 2015 season, with Jets duo Kurt Capewell and Josh Cleeland getting their chance with Cronulla.

Canberra have earned themselves the support of PNG fans by naming Hunters back Kato Ottio in their squad, while Blackhawks flyer Zac Santo – who finished just behind Marmin Barba in last year's leading try scorer tally – has also been included.

They will join other recent Intrust Super Cup graduates including Charlie Gubb, Blake Leary, Jarrod McInally, Tony Williams, Bureta Faraimo and Justin Hunt in New Zealand.

*See the full squad lists at 2016 Downer NRL Auckland Nines squads

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners