You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

For the second year running – nothing could separate the Under 16 Queensland Murri and Under 16 NSW Koori sides, with the teams playing out a 16-16 draw today.

Queensland’s McKenzie Baker had the chance to clinch the match with a penalty attempt taken in the in final minute of the match; only for it to be waved away.

Remarkably, this is the fourth time in seven matches that the scores have ended in a draw.

Queensland had the best of the first half, taking a 10-6 lead into the break with halfback Koby Cubby bagging a double.

However, the visitors went into the sheds with good momentum behind them with centre Ali Taufuau running through some tired defence to score.

Ethan Jacky then got NSW level soon after the break with a great try in their left corner after he hit a looping cut-out pass and ran hard to the line.

Queensland were on the back foot for much of this time, but were able to withstand the pressure and soon retook the lead with a Baker penalty goal.

Treavon McGinness then extended the lead for the Murri side, finishing off an impressive passage of play from his team, eventually running through on the left corner after catching a looping pass of his own.

But as had been the case for most of the match – neither side could really break away and with the minutes counting down – a busting run from Luciano Svagelli saw him plant the ball under the sticks.

Amidst jubilant celebrations from his team-mates; Jordan Allan’s successful conversion drew scores level once again.

The Murri side retain the shield, having won the 2014 encounter.

Queensland Under 16 Murri 16 (Koby Cubby 2, Treavon McGinness tries; McKenzie Baker 2 goals) drew NSW Under 16 Koori 16 (Ali Taufuau, Ethan Jacky, Luciano Svagelli tries; Jordan Allan 2 goals)

Player of the Match: David Fifita (Queensland Murri)

Halftime: Queensland Murri 10 led NSW Koori 4

Queensland Murri Under 16 team

1.       McKenzie Baker
2.       Treavon McGinness
3.       Dario Takitaki
4.       Bradyn Campbell
5.       Tiko Twist
6.       Brent Barnes
7.       Koby Cubby
8.       Simon Asela
9.       Jesse Braslin
10.   Edwin Foster
11.   Declan Beetson
12.   David Fifita (c)
13.   Jacob Makinen
14.   Blake Cowburn
15.   Jeremiah Bowen
16.   Carlos McVicar-Knox
17.   Tyrone Spratt
18.   Quayden Collins-Cobbo
19.   Malachi Retchford
20.   Daniel Shannon

Coach: Sid Domic
Manager: Gary Halliday


Gallery: Murri Under 16 savour All Stars week
Video: Murri Under 16 prepare for big game