You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Innisfail’s veteran centre Brett Anderson continued his fine try-scoring streak with a hat-trick of tries in the Leprechauns’ 52-20 win over Mareeba Gladiators in Round 7 of the 2016 David McCoy Homes Cairns Key Real Estate Cairns District Rugby League A Grade competition.

Anderson, Northern Pride’s record try scorer, made it eight tries in six games since he joined his home town club as Innisfail maintained their 100 per cent record.

Anthony Perkins (2), Bradley Stephen (2), Ian Bounghi and Dan Sagigi also contributed four pointers as the Leprechauns flexed their muscles at Davies Park.

“I’m loving being back at home and around the boys,” Anderson told The Cairns Post, as he was also named the LD Total Cairns Player of the Round.

“We weren’t expecting a walkover (against Mareeba) with them rolling Atherton, but we were pretty good and they were a bit poor, so we will take that.

“It was a good win considering we had a few outs.”

Cairns Brothers maintained second spot on the ladder but only after a thrilling 40-40 draw with Yarrabah Seahawks at Jilara Oval.

Yamba Bowie (2), Ben Fitzpatrick (2), Chris Reisen, Lachlan Parmenter, Luke LaRosa and Nigel Scott scored tries for Brothers, while Wade Smith (2), Septimus Ambrym (2), Shaun Mobie, Jayden Kuyuna, Charles Murgha and Ralph Barlow were on the scoresheet for Yarrabah.

Mossman-Port Douglas Sharks leapt back into third after a convincing 32-18 victory over Cairns Kangaroos, inspired by dynamic backs Shawn Bowen (two tries), Eddie Daniel and Robbie Amber.

Atherton Roosters dropped to fourth after a 24-20 loss at ever-improving Ivanhoes, who welcomed the return to form of former CDRL Gold Medal winner Trent Barnard.

Centre Barnard grabbed two tries in a dominant display.

Meanwhile, Tully Tigers were inspired by young guns Brad Spicer (two tries) and Jack Campagnolo as they defeated Edmonton Storm 26-6 at Tully Showgrounds.

Bottom of the ladder Southern Suburbs had a bye.



Ivanhoes 24 (Trent Barnard 2, Jared Verney, Tristan Mackay, Ali Henley tries; Jared Verney 2 goals)
d Atherton 20 (Naya Freeman, Timoli Navaibalaue, Benjamin Waldock, Jake Rivett tries; Darryl Grant 2 goals)

Mossman/Port Douglas 32 (Shawn Bowen 2, Eddie Daniel, James Doolah, Robbie Amber, Karl Zammataro, Nigel Santarosa tries; Robbie Amber 2 goals) d Kangaroos 18 (Josh Mene 2, Keiran Hayes tries; Daniel Charlie 3 goals)

Innisfail 52 (Brett Anderson 3, Anthony Perkins 2, Bradley Stephen 2, Ian Bounghi, Dan Sagigi tries; Matthew Healey 8 goals) d Mareeba 20 (Petale Tai, Ian King, Josh Stowers 2 tries; Jason Bail 2 goals)

Tully 26 (Brad Spicer 2, Henry Laumea, Timothy Savage, Budhagi Gibuma tries; Jack Campagnolo 3 goals) d Edmonton 6 (Mick Kusu try; Coleridge Dabah goal)

Brothers 40 (Yamba Bowie 2, Ben Fitzpatrick 2, Chris Reisen, Lachlan Parmenter, Luke LaRosa, Nigel Scott tries; Chris Reisen 4 goals) drew with Yarrabah 40 (Wade Smith 2, Septimus Ambrym 2, Shaun Mobie,Jayden Kuyuna, Charles Murgha, Ralph Barlow tries; Shaun Mobie 3, Septimus Ambrym 1 goal)


Ivanhoes 14 d Atherton 6
Mossman/Port Douglas 34 d Kangaroos 24
Mareeba 28 d Innisfail 18
Tully 24 d Edmonton 20
Yarrabah 38 d Brothers 34


Atherton 18 d Ivanhoes 12
Edmonton 44 d Tully 6
Brothers 22 d Yarrabah 16


Kangaroos 22 d Mossman/Port Douglas 18
Edmonton 24 d Tully 18
Brothers 28 d Yarrabah 26


Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners