You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The small town of Inglewood and their A Grade team the Inglewood Roosters are still celebrating as we speak after a dominate 44-10 win against the Tenterfield Tigers in the Border Rugby League grand final on Sunday, September 4.

The Inglewood Roosters won the BRL major semi-final two weeks ago against their grand final opponents the Tigers in Tenterfield, to earn the right to host the BRL decider on Sunday at Inglewood.

After a brief hiatus of two years without a senior team in the BRL competition, it was great to see rugby league return to the town of Inglewood.

The club has a proud history in the BRL, having now won three premierships in the past six years. 

The Inglewood Roosters big forwards came out firing early to set a platform for their speedy outside backs and were able to build a lead of 22-0 at the break.

The Tigers came out after halftime and tried to get back in the contest and scored a great try through Josh Lucas to bridge the gap early in the second half.

Despite the Tigers trying valiantly to get back into the contest, the Inglewood Roosters forwards again took control of the middle of the park and continued to attack the Tigers try line eventually coming away with a dominate 44-10 win.

Best for Inglewood Roosters were Jamie Meddings, Brandon Sauverain, Tim West, Brent Bennett and Shane Hooper, while James Springborg, Josh Lucas, Jarrod McIntosh and Marc McGrady tried all day for the Tigers.

Although missing out on the major prize of the A Grade premiership, the day had started well for the Tenterfield Tigers club with their Ladies LeagueTag team the Tigerettes defeating the Wallangarra Ramettes 32-10 in a hard fought match.

The Tenterfield Tigerettes

The young Tenterfield side have now been undefeated for the last three seasons and look like the team to beat again in 2017 season with a very young side.

They have been the most consistent side in the BRL Ladies LeagueTag competition for the past three seasons and ran out deserved winners.

Credit to the Wallangarra women's team who refused to go down without a fight and never gave up until the final whistle. 

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners