You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

By Queensland Rugby League

The Queensland Rugby League has partnered with the Australian Sports Foundation (ASF), to formalise a charity program, the QRL Remote Communities Fund

This fund has been established to help support remote rugby league participants by providing funding for travel to competitions/ games.

Video: watch above to see the journey of young outback players on game day

The ASF assists clubs and organisations from all across Australia, to help raise tax deductable donations for projects that will help build our communities and strengthen our national sporting identity.

Donating with ASF allows donors to use the foundations tax deductible status to claim tax relief for any donation of $2 or more.

Individuals and clubs in remote areas of Queensland are spending substantial amounts of money, effort and time, travelling and training to play rugby league.

Providing these communities with funding support will not only broaden the competition structure of rugby league in Queensland, but will assist greatly with the health and wellbeing of all participants.

Project purpose: To raise a total of $50,000 to assist remote community players, coaches and match officials with costs associated with travel, insurance and equipment.

This program is also designed to be a proof of concept, so that clubs can review this program, and use it to initiate their own programs via the ASF.

This will allow these clubs to improve facilities and support outgoings at their level of the game, and raise funds for their own requirements.

Project scope: The QRL Remote Communities Fund is designed to raise funds for the players, coaches and match officials in remote areas of Queensland.

The money will assist with costs associated with travel, insurance and equipment and provide the opportunity for more consistent and regular competition regular competition in the Cape and areas of Western Queensland.

These areas will include: Northern Peninsula Area, Torres Strait, Palm Island Mapoon, Aurukun, Mt Isa, Cloncurry, Hughenden, Winton, Burketown, Boulia, Longreach, Blackall, Charleville, Quilpie, Dirranbandi and Augathella.