You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Sam Anderson - Intrust Super Cup Final - Redcliffe Dolphines V Sunshine Coast Falcons at Dolphin Oval, Redcliffe. 2.30pm Sunday September 18, 2016. PHOTO: SMP Images - Scott Davis

Dolphins skipper Sam Anderson was honoured as the club’s best this season at their annual presentation awards.

The talented prop was awarded the Peter Leis Medal last Friday night (October 7) at the event held in the corporate area of the new grand stand, the Des Webb Stand.

There were no surprises when departing halfback and competition leading point scorer Darren Nicholls won the Ian “Bunny” Pearce trophy (for most season points).

Full list of winners below. 

Intrust Super Cup

Peter Leis Medal Player of the Year: Sam Anderson
Player’s Player: Shane Pumipi
Ian “Bunny” Pearce trophy (most season points): Darren Nicholls
Don McLennan trophy (for best player in a grand final): Brandon Lee

FOGS Colts Challenge

Dick Turner award (for best local junior in Colts): Mitch McPaul
Best and Fairest: Dylan Minetto
Best Back: Trai Fuller

Brisbane Rugby League

Best and Fairest: Mitch Wilson
Best Forward: Jayden Best
Don McLennan trophy (for best player in a grand final: Tyson Gamble

Des Webb award for Club Person of the Year: Chris Essex
Hit of the Year: Anthony Cherrington (v PNG Round 9 – Intrust Super Cup)
Try of the Year: Kyle Van Klaveren (v Carina Round 9 – Brisbane Rugby League)


For more Intrust Super Cup player awards stories – stay tuned to 

Other club award winners:

Northern Pride
Mackay Cutters
Souths Logan Magpies
Townsville Blackhawks
Burleigh Bears
Ipswich Jets

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners