You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Springsure’s Jared Owens was awarded the 2016 Jim Gallagher Medallion at the Central Highlands Rugby League Presentation Day Luncheon held last month.

The Mountain Men five-eighth and captain polled a total of 37 votes from a possible 42 votes to win the prestigious player of the year medal by 14 votes.

Speaking after accepting the medal, Owens thanked his team-mates and club for the year and said he was looking forward to the 2017 season.

“It’s an honour to win this year’s medal and I wouldn’t have been able to do it without the boys and the whole Springsure club,” Owens said.

“The club means a lot to me after moving from Sarina two years ago. We have a really good competition in the Central Highlands with plenty of good players and I am looking forward to next year’s season with the Mountain Men.”

Jared Owens receives his award from Central Division Manager Glenn Ottaway. Supplied Image

Owens also won the Central Highlands Referees’ Best and Fairest with a total of 27 votes ahead of Mitch Wyatte (16 votes) and Chris Conway (15 votes).

In the Women’s competition, premiership-winning fullback Kelsie Parter won the Pat Booker medallion with 18 votes, edging out Blackwater’s Mariah Storch by two votes.

Central Highlands Rugby League President Frank Lambley said it was great to recognise the people who make rugby league in the Central Highlands successful.

“Presentation Day is all about celebrating the 2016 season and thanking the players and most importantly the club and league officials,” Lambley said.

“I would particularly like to thank fellow League executives Paul Bell and Tracy McIndoe for their assistance this season as we took some big steps forward.”

“I congratulate all of the award recipients, particularly Jared and Kelsie who have had outstanding seasons and I would also like to congratulate and thank the Central Highlands community for coming out and supporting our players and clubs.”

“I hope you have enjoyed the greatest game of all this season.”


Men’s Most Tries: Mitch Wyatte (Middlemount Panthers) - 21 tries
Women’s Most Tries: Tegan Rolfe (Clermont Bears) - 16 tries
Men’s Most Goals: Phil Derksen (Dysart Bulls) - 58 goals
Women’s Most Goals: Mariah Storch (Blackwater Crushers) - 20 goals
Men’s Most Points: Phil Derksen (Dysart Bulls) - 168 points
Women’s Most Points: Tegan Rolfe (Clermont Bears) - 72 points
A Grade Representative Player of the Year: Clayton Kilpatrick (Dysart Bulls)
Under 20 Representative Player of the Year: Lawson Storey (Emerald Cowboys)
Women’s Representative Player of the Year: Kailah Rogers (Emerald Cowboys)
Referee of the Year: David Thornberry
Referee’s Player of the Year: Jared Owens (Springsure Mountain Men) – 28 votes
Men’s Rookie of the Year: Lawson Storey (Emerald Cowboys) - 9 votes
Jim Gallagher Men’s Player of the Year: Jared Owens (Springsure Mountain Men) - 37 votes
Women’s Rookies of the Year: Tayla Bean (Emerald Cowboys), Mackenzie Beames (Clermont Bears) and Miesha Huet (Emerald Tigers) - 7 votes
Pat Booker Women’s Player of the Year: Kelsie Parter (Emerald Tigers) - 18 votes

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners