You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Some of the state’s leading talent in the Under 15 and Under 16 age groups have assembled on the Sunshine Coast this week to take part in a QAS development camp.

Both boys camps are being held at Currimundi and began yesterday (Wednesday, January 11) and will run until Sunday, January 15.

The Queensland Academy of Sport (QAS) programs are a vital pathway to help develop leading players in the game in this state.

While in camp, boys will hear from former Maroons Origin greats like Kerrod Walters, Jharal Yow Yeh, David Shillington and Trevor Gillmeister, who will guide each age group through a tackling session.

Maroons coach Kevin Walters will also join the camps to help guide a training session.

The players selected come from across the QRL’s three divisions (SEQ, CQ and NQ) and the Under 15 side were primarily picked following last year’s QRL State Carnival.

Many of the Under 16 side were part of the QAS program last year and are returning to reinforce what they learnt in that camp.

The right attitude was also a key criterion for both camps. Congratulations to the boys selected in both teams.

QAS Under 15 Boys team

Reece Walsh (Nerang Roosters RLFC)
Samuel Walker (Northern Suburbs Ipswich Tigers)
Matamatagi Ripley (Magpies JRLFC)
Trezman Banjo (Mareeba JRLFC)
Rhys Timms (Narangba Rangers RLFC)
Jayden Clarkson (Redlands JRLFC)
Zacari Short (Kawana JRLFC)
Jake Smallhorn (Beachmere JRLFC)
James Pere (Coomera Cutters RLFC)
Caleb Esera (Souths RLFC)
Kleese Haas (Nerang Roosters RLFC)
Jymaal Mellor-King (Edmonton JRLFC)
Brocco Uhrle (Aspley Devils RLFC)
Brendan Piakura (Helenvale Hornets RLFC)
Blake Laherty (South West Mustangs RLFC)
Keegan Vandenberg (Aspley Devils RLFC)
Damon Somerville (Burleigh Bears RLFC)
Xavier Savage (Brothers Junior RLFC)
Rixson Andrew (Souths RLFC)
Grant Tuisamoa (Logan Brothers RLFC)

QAS Under 16 Boys team

Myphala Ah Chong (Brothers St Brendens RLFC)
Stanley Jackson (Logan Brothers RLFC)
Tristian Powell (Goondiwindi RLFC)
Stepharn Holo (Helensvale Hornets RLFC)
Zach Brooks (Valley Diehards RLFC)
Lance Bagon (Carina RLFC)
Drekwon Brown (Souths RLFC)
Nelson Grove (Burleigh Bears RLFC)
Juwan Compain (Currumbin Eagles RLFC)
Ezra Coulston (Carina RLFC)
Heilum Luki (Central Scorpions RLFC)
Thomas Dearden (Brothers Bulldogs JRLFC)
Joshua James (Wests Mitchelton RLFC)
Thomas Casey (Northern Suburbs Ipswich Tigers RLFC)
Joseph Lowe (Kawana JRLFC)
Fanitesi Niu (Souths RLFC)
Dylan White (Innisfail RLFC)
Gracen Sproule (Westerm Lions RLFC)
William Evans (Burleigh Bears RLFC)
Liam Su'a (Logan Brothers RLFC)
Brent Barnes (Helensvale Hornets RLFC)
Leighton Milburn (Brothers Rockhampton JRLFC)
Feao Maka (Logan Brothers RLFC)
Alofiana Khan-Periera (Burleigh Bears RLFC)
Danny Heenan (Valley Diehards RLFC)
Harrison Graham (Wynnum Manly JRLFC)
Max Plath (Wynnum Manly JRLFC)
Dylan White (Laidley Lions RLFC)