You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Mendi Blackhawks defeated the Pride 32-10 at Jack Manski Oval on Saturday evening, and claimed the Foley Shield for 2017 in the process.

The Pride tested the Blackhawks defence for the first part of the game, which included back-to-back sets and two line drop outs.

However, the Blackhawks were able to withstand that pressure and it was Jordan Drew who was the first to score for the home side after a long pass from Kyle Laybutt landed him in the corner.

Carlin Anderson converted the try, making these the only points scored in the first half.

The second half didn’t start well for Townsville, who kicked the ball out on the full. The Pride pounced on the opportunity; scoring in the next set to make the score 6-4.

Hard-working Temone Power however got his side back and track and was next to score for the home team after a quick pass from Sione Lousi.

The away team once again struck back soon after, keeping them in contention and making the score 12-10 with just under 30 minutes remaining.

Point scoring machine Anderson then scored a solo try, which was soon followed by Laybutt kicking for himself and diving on the ball just before it hit the dead ball line.

Kierran Moseley and Jordan Kenworthy both scored late tries for the Blackhawks, taking the win out of reach of the Pride.

A highlight for the game was the foot race between flying wingers Jonathan Reuben and Gideon Gela-Mosby, which eventually saw Reuben making the tackle, after Gela-Mosby took an intercept close to his team’s tryline.

The win saw the Blackhawks remain in fifth position on the Intrust Super Cup ladder and win the Foley Shield for 2017.

The next game for the Townsville Blackhawks will see them travel to Winton to take on the Ipswich Jets this Saturday; while the Pride head to Bamaga to play Wynnum Manly.

See the full scoring details and final team line-ups for this game via QRL Live

TOWNSVILLE BLACKHAWKS 32 (Jordan Drew, Temone Power, Carlin Anderson, Kyle Laybutt, Kierran Moseley, Jordan Kenworthy tries; Carlin Anderson 4 goals) def NORTHERN PRIDE 10 (Marcus Jensen, Troy Kapea tries; Jordan Biondi-Odo goal) at Jack Manski Oval.