You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Dalby Diehards won their first premiership since joining the Toowoomba Rugby League competition in 1996 with a resounding 48-4 win over the defending premiers, Pittsworth Danes.

The game was all but over when the Diehards scored at better than a point a minute, leading 32-0 after 27 minutes.

John McDonald medallist, Dalby fullback Corey Blades was brilliant, scoring two tries each half to help guide his club to their maiden title.

The veteran was everywhere, backing up as if he knew exactly where to be.

It was vintage Blades and a treat for everyone who was there.

There was not a bad Dalby player on the paddock.

The forward pack laid the platform with brothers Xavier and Dan Manley ironically breaking their noses in separate incidents.

Both brothers played very well with Dan bouncing back with a worthy four-pointer.

The Taylor brothers also played their part with excellent kicking games.

It capped off a season Dylan Taylor won’t forget after making his representative debut earlier this season for the Clydesdales.

He was hampered most of the latter part of the season with an unusual ankle injury which he still felt on the big day.

Hooker Danny Wassell was at his elusive best and kept his team’s momentum going forward all day.

His captain Colin Green lead by example and was inspirational and new dad Jason Wardrop was dominant throughout the decider and celebrated his first Father’s Day with a four-pointer.

Despite defending their premiership well all season, it wasn’t Pittsworth’s day.

The Danes have prided themselves on their swarming defence this season, but it just wasn’t there on the day that counted.

They tried hard to quell the Diehards’ momentum, but it was not to be.

Fullback Jeff Weber was Pittsworth’s best and did not deserve to be in the losing side.

Injuries played their part in their finals campaign with Thomas O’Sullivan and Cameron Miller not taking the field.

In the end, Dalby had too many guns and relished their two weeks off as they looked fresh and out-enthused their opposition.

The Diehards recruited well in the off season and their additions; Corey Blades, Steve Franciscus, Jason Wardrop and Alex Ambia repaid their club two-fold.

The enormity of the club’s initial win will sink in over the next few days as it was day to remember for the Dalby faithful.

WATCH: TRL Media speaking with premiership-winning coach, Dalby's Kerry Carmichael


The Reserve Grade final was the game of the day as the Gatton Hawks defended their premiership with an epic win over Valleys.

It’s been an amazing four years in a row where these two teams have met each in the decider.

Pisao Foai and Francis Han laid the foundation for the Hawks with Riley Godwin and Cliff Brown scoring inspirational tries in the first 15 minutes of the second half to grab the lead back from the Roosters after they had taken a 10-6 lead at halftime.

Dylan Adamson and Dylan Haaijer were inspirational for Valleys and threw everything at the Hawks.

The Roosters were down 18-10 when Anisi Fanau scored with five minutes remaining to give Valleys a chance.

The last period had both supporters on the edge of their seats.

Time and time again, desperate defence saw a number of rucks being held up over the opposition lines.

In the end, Gatton had done enough to win their third title in the last four years.

It was a remarkable effort from both clubs given their A Grade sides were in the mix this season.

WATCH: TRL Media speaking with premiership-winning half, Gatton's Michael Frohloff.


The Under 18s clash was similar to the A Grade final with the defending premiers Valleys getting away to a 24-0 lead after 17 minutes.

Inaugural Scott Kuhnemann medallist Kurt Squires had the ball on a string. He was ably assisted by Brock Diment and Pat Brunner.

Warwick had no answers early, but did outscore Valleys for the rest of the match.

Valleys had done enough and cherished the two-week break leading into the match.

WATCH: TRL Media speaking with premiership-winning coach, Valleys' Matt Schultz.


A GRADE: Dalby 48 (Corey Blades 4, Dan Manley, Zac Morris, Dylan Taylor, Jason Wardrop, Danny Wassell tries; Zac Morris 6 goals) defeated Pittsworth 4 (Nick Schnitzerling try)

RESERVE GRADE: Gatton 18 (Ray Erbacher, Cliff Brown, Riley Godwin tries; Ray Erbacher 2, Cory Schmidt goals) defeated Valleys 16 (Daniel Bain, Blake Edwards, Anisi Finau tries; Dylan Adamson 2 goals)

UNDER 18: Valley 38 (Josh Bathgate, Pat Brunner, Brock Diment, Coen Hopkins, Zach Miles, Kurt Squires, Travis Turnbull tries; Kurt Squires 3, Chris Chalmers 2 goals) defeated Warwick 24 (Coen Martin-Brown, Thomas Lloyd, Jack McIvor, Mitch Watson tries; Kai Etherington goal)

SECOND DIVISION: Dalby 15 (Dylan Bower 2, Christopher Woodbridge tries; Luke Tarrant goal; Richard Woodbridge field goal) defeated Pittsworth 10 (Jake Johnston, Joel Naumann tries; Jake Johnston goal)

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners