You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
  "\rState of Origin 3 - NSW v QLD, July 13th 2016.\rat ANZ Stadium Homebush.\rPic Grant Trouville @ NRL Photos."

Queensland Maroons and North Queensland champion Johnathan Thurston has joined an illustrious group including social and disability advocates, medical specialists, Indigenous leaders, a champion for veterans and community heroes as a nominee for the 2018 Queensland Australian of the Year Awards.

Brisbane Broncos CEO Paul White is also a nominee for the 2018 Queensland Australian Of The Year Award.

The Queensland Award nominees announced today are in the running to be named Queensland Australian of the Year, Queensland Senior Australian of the Year, Queensland Young Australian of the Year and Queensland Local Hero.

The 2018 Queensland Award nominees are: 


Rochelle Courtenay – Homeless women’s advocate (Sandgate)
Dr Glenn Gardener – Pioneering maternal fetal surgeon (Brisbane)
Johnathan Thurston – NRL player and Indigenous mentor (Townsville)
Paul White – Sports administrator (Bardon)


Aunty Faye Carr – Aboriginal elder (Ipswich)
Carmel Crouch – Disability advocate (Sunshine Coast)
Dr Dimity Dornan AO – Hearing health specialist and bionics advocate (Brisbane)
Dr Barry Kirby – Humanitarian doctor (Carool)


Courtney Crack – All abilities dance teacher (Corinda)
Olivia Hargroder – Advocate for people with Down Syndrome (Brisbane)
Tamara Richardson – Youth ambassador (Rockhampton)
Phillip Thompson – Veterans’ champion (Townsville)


Aguek Nyok – Community superman (Coopers Plains)
Grant James Pforr – Community champion (Gold Coast)
Philippa ‘Pip’ Russell – Children’s entertainer and innovator (Brisbane)
Luke Terry – Social entrepreneur (Toowoomba)

The Queensland Australian of the Year, Senior Australian of the Year, Young Australian of the Year and Local Hero Award recipients will be announced on Wednesday, November 8, at the Old Museum Building in Brisbane.

The Queensland Award recipients will then join a cohort of 32 State and Territory recipients from around Australia in the national Awards, which will be held in Canberra on January 25, 2018.

National Australia Day Council CEO, Ms Jenny Barbour, said the Queensland nominees are among 130 great Australians being recognised at the state level in the Australian of the Year Awards. 

“The Australian of the Year Awards allow us to recognise and celebrate the achievements of outstanding Australians – people making extraordinary contributions to our society,” Ms Barbour said. 

“The Queensland Award nominees are all involved in causes and issues close to their hearts, are selfless in their actions and contributions to assist others or have taken action when help was needed most.

“Their outlook and efforts have inspired those around them and make them Australians to be proud of.”

Commonwealth Bank has been a major sponsor of the Australian of the Year Awards for over 30 years.

“We are proud to support the Australian of the Year Awards, a program that celebrates the achievements of inspirational Australians,” Mr Ian Narev, Chief Executive Officer of the Commonwealth Bank said.

“Thank you to all of the amazing nominees for your contribution to our nation.” 

For more information on the 2018 Australian of the Year Awards nominees visit the Honour Roll

*This first appeared on the Australian of the Year website

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners