You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
BRL A Grade returns: Round 3 preview

The BRL A grade In Safe Hands Cup resumes after the Easter break with Round 3 kicking off  tomorrow (Saturday, April 7).

West Brisbane Panthers and the Valleys Diehards will square off at Kev McKell Oval, Arana, at 3.15pm in the battle of the Norths Devils’ two feeder clubs.

The Panthers are two from two with solid wins against the Seagulls and Redcliffe, while the premiers were brought back to earth after the Magpies beat them comfortably in Round 2.

As premiers do, they attract special attention, especially when taking on their western neighbours. The last time these two faced off was in last year’s preliminary final. The Diehards were too good taking that encounter 30-12.

Wests welcome back a bullocking ball carrier in Hemi Mullen who has been named to start in the front row. The contest between Mullen and Valleys Patrick Akauola will be a feature.

On Sunday, the Magpies host the Seagulls at Davies Park from 1.15pm. Both the teams registered their first wins before last weekend’s Easter break.

The Magpies came from behind after using a greater share of possession to score some outrageous long distance tries to knock over Valleys.

They are at home again to the Seagulls who also made the most of greater possession and a near error-free second half in their Round 2 win over Redcliffe, making this "Battle of the Birds" an enticing contest.

Magpie half Lane Ferling will be up against the experienced Seagull Shaun Nona. Nona, an Intrust Super Cup regular who has played for Queensland and NSW Residents teams; and has won premierships in the Intrust Super Cup and Intrust Super Premiership, will be out to impress as he looks to go back up to the Cup side.

Suzuki Stadium, Langlands Park will host the final match of Round 3 as the winless Tigers host Redcliffe. Both will have used the week off to go back to the drawing board after last start defeats.

Hookers Tristan Hope from Redcliffe and Jack Walters for Easts will look to direct two dynamic packs up the middle of the field.

Easts certainly have the squad to be a real handful, but handling errors and discipline have stopped the Tigers from putting on their best display so far. A return home might be what’s needed to help produce their best.

Redcliffe once again are away, and they too have exceptional talent. While their first win was ugly, their last game was well below the Dolphins’ ability.

Redcliffe have had a large change over, but coach Daniel Green has the firepower to blow any side away. If the Dolphins find their mojo, scorers, sharpen your pencils.

Panthers v Diehards at Kev McKell Oval, Saturday, April 7; 3.15pm



1. Kyle Van Klaveren 2. Namila Davui 3. Sunny Monroe 4. Kennedy Pettyborne 5. James Olds 6. Luke Strasser 7. Zach Strasser 8. Hemi Mullen 9. Mikaere Beattie 10. Michael Molo 11. Troy Swift 12. Billy Rogers 13. Dominic Biondi 16. James Sharkie 17. Riley Leota 18. Kane Zalewski 19. Simona Vavega

Coach: Wayne Weekes


1. Haydan Lipp 2. Tom Collins 3. Rowan Klein 4. Sam Collins 5. Regan Glyn 6. Brett Doherty 7. Hayden Herbert 8. Liam Herrington 9. Chris Aiton 10. Patrick Akauola 11. Jacob Kelly 12. Iain Riccardi 13. Dalton Phillips 14. Jack Miers 15. Mattais Heimuli 16. Michael White 17. Joe Mc Kenna

Coach: Don Gailer 

Tigers vsDolphins at Suzuki Stadium, Sunday, April 8; 1.15pm


1. Brett Kelly 2. Delroy Berryman 3. Connor Jones 4. Maeli Seve 5. Evander Cummins 6. Michael Rasmussen 7. Ollie Olds 8. Heath Wilson 9. Jack Walters 10. Andrew Thompson 11. Jayden Hunt 12. Harry Pondekas 13. Jack Anderson 15. Michael Egan 16. 19. Jack Schaffer 20. Foisa Peni

Coach: David Krause


1. Will Partridge 2. Aiden Devery 3. Rinsma Saueha 4. Sam Leach 5. Corban Daniels 6. Reece Braun 7. Manaia Rudolph 8. Jordan Pinnock 9. Tristan Hope 10. Ben King 11. Jacob O’Shea 12. James Flack 13. Tauaalo Vaipulu 14. Brayden Dee 15. Brett Anderson 16. Agassi Stowers 17. Jake Sparey

Coach: Daniel Green 

Magpies v Seagulls at Davies Park Sunday 8 April 1.15pm



1. Benaiah Bowie 2. David Pritchard 3. Dan Russell 4. Paul Rokolati 5. Luke Archer 6. Joe Burchell 7. Lane Ferling 8. Rhys Melville 9. Brad Frith 10. Jordan Mago 11. Johnnie Fox 12. Dan Tamou 13. Sam Elliott 14. Matty Brown 15. Justin Fai 16. Ian King 17. Will Samuel 18. Aleki Falepaini - one to be omitted

Coach: Steve Bretherton


1. Matthew Milson 2. Peter Gubb 3. Mitchell Mc Millian 4. Jacob Tonge 5. Tumoana Halkyard 6. John Te Reo 7. Shaun Nona 8. Lachlan Lee 9. Mitchell Moore 10. Billy Solah 11. Keenan Palasia 12. Kelly Tate. 13. Stedman Lefau 14. Kalolo Saitaua 15. Joshua Hoffman 16. Jaz Nahu-Main 17. Tamati Ioane

Coach: Ron Troutman

BRL Round 3 referee appointments

* John Devine is the BRL A Grade correspondent for the QRL

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners