You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Tigers host Bears in QTOP A Grade Round 4 highlight

Round 4 of the 2018 QTOP A Grade competition will commence this weekend and will see the Southport Tigers play host to the Burleigh Bears in the highlighted match of the round.

The Southport Tigers have had a rough pre-season and start to the year after being forced to scramble to get a side on the field.

With only three players returning from last year's side, the Tigers are only just starting to see structures and team stability come together.

"We needed to create a whole new roster and playing group and although it has been challenging, it has been an exciting challenge," Tigers Coach Mark Ross said.

Focusing on the collaboration of the whole senior coaching staff and development of players from Under 19 to A Grade, the Southport Tigers focus is to improve position from last year whist developing players and striving for professionalism.

Tevita Folau, Denzal Ngati, Jacob Pottinger and captain Tu Whakatihi-Paikea are some players to look out for.

Much like the Tigers, the Burleigh Bears had only three players return from last year's side. The 2018 Burleigh Bears are a young side working on building a new culture.

"We needed to start from scratch and build up the confidence of the young side," Bears coach Stuart Wilkins said.

Learning key lessons against the strong and physical Runaway Bay Seagulls, the Bears have been working hard to match the intensity they battled on the weekend.

The Bears will need to play the best football possible to compete with the already developed and experienced A Grade sides.

Captained by Lorenzo Ma'afu, the young side will also be looking at Te McDonald and Tyler Sparkes for guidance.

At other venues, Tweed Heads Seagulls will take on local rivals the Bilambil Jets, the Ormeau Shearers will host the Tugun Seahawks and Currumbin will play Runaway Bay at home.

Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP A Grade Round 4

Ormeau Shearers v Tugun Seahawks at Brien Harris Oval, Saturday, May 12 – 2.30pm

Ormeau Shearers

1. Josh Walker 2. Aloesi Qio 3. Hirini Robin 4. Dion Belford-Laulu 5. Israel Taligatus 6. Grayson Te Kiri 7. Nathan Wilson 8. Jaymz Douglas-Webb 9. Trent Shield 10. Mohi Kendrick 11. Vince Mellers 12. Jone Macilai 13. Shane Blow 15. Storm Fa’agase 16. Kendall Tamariki 17. Pheonix Su’a

Coach: Julius Kuresa

Tugun Seahawks

1. Jai Veli 2. Troy Canning 3. Savern Rapana 4. Kainoa Gudgeon 5. Elijah Barnes 6. Keanu Te Kiri 7. Paul Sheedy 8. Trent Smith 9. Fletcher Harrold 10. Shane Gillham 11. Bryce Thomas 12. Ayden Lee 13. Nick Harrold (c) 14. Cooper Barrile 15. Will Takave 16. Mitch Willmot 17. Blake Zillman

Coach: Clint Barends

Tweed Head Seagulls v Bilambil Jets at Piggabeen Sports, Saturday, May 12 – 3.15pm

Tweed Heads Seagulls

1. Jayden Baker 2. Tre Williams 3. Kodie Parsons 4. Kurtis McDonald 5. Regan Muir 6. Talor Walters 7. Rex Johnson 8. Mitch Sharp 9. Ethan Roberts 10. Josh Harvey (c) 11. Rory Lilies 12. Kirk Murphy 13. Reece Summer 14. Tony Mata’utai 15. Mike Gray 16. Harry Hughes 17. Macauley Dawson

Coach: Kevin Campion

Bilambil Jets

1. Carne Rhodes 2. Luke Jaeger 3. Alex Fitzhugh 4. Hayden Tolland 5. Josh Quinn 6. Kobi Annand 7. Ben Black 8. Mitch Spackman (c) 9. Thomas Rowles 10. Will Malone 11. Damien Ford 12. Bailey Crompton 13. Harrison Burling 14. Jack Rowles 15. Jack Welsh 16. Brendan Welsh 17. Tom Raftery

Coach: Craig Rowles

Currumbin Eagles v Runaway Bay Seagulls at Galleon Way, Saturday, May 12 – 5pm

Currumbin Eagles

1. Hayden Alsop 2. Steven Eliott 3. Ken Allison (c) 4. Blake Anderson 5. Jake Smith 6. Michael Burgess 7. Phil Ramage 8. Jarrod Gill 9. Daniel Webb 10. Pele Peletelese 11. Liam Donelly 12. Ryan Milligan 13. Reece Worboys 14. Jake Gleeson 16. Josh Campebll 17. Ethan Williams

Coach: Ryan Gundry

Runaway Bay Seagulls

1. Jack Mackin 2. Daniel Kelly 3. Keanu Rimene 4. Jamie Anderson 5. Matt Gandy 6. Jake Powell 7. Falani Arkell 8. Shaun Nipperess 9. Jesse Malcolm 10. Henry Chan-Ting 11. Tane Rapira 12. Andrew Vela 13. Dylan Pelo 14. Blake Midson 15. Siua Likiliki 16. Darcy Sims 17. Kimihia Pakipaki-Hemopo 18. Jenan Parish

Coach: Nick Gleeson

Southport Tigers v Burleigh Bears at Owen Park, Sunday, May 13 – 2pm

Southport Tigers

1. Beau Cordtz 2. Corey Walker 3. Dallas Donnelly 4. Jonagh Gardiner 5. Tevita Folau 6. Zoram Watene 7. Jordan Birch 8. Denzal Ngati 9. Jacob Pottinger 10. Nathan Young 11. Tu Whakatihi (c) 12. Simione Ata 13. Gideon Afemui 14. Hala Masila 15. Justin McKenna 16. Kane Rudolph 17. Naz Monsall 18. Bronston Kennach

Coach: Mark Ross

Burleigh Bears

1. Ben Fritz 2. Corey Alexander 3. Te McDonald 4. Jaxson Paulo 5. Allan Lockwood 6. Josh Rogers 7. Matt Egan 8. Jerome Veve 9. Zae Wallace 10. Lorenzo Ma’afu 11. Jesse Savage 12. Darius Farmer 13. Jeff Lynch 14. Kaleb Fuimaono 15. Jack Rogers 16. Zac Akehurst 17. Barton Lyons

Coach: Stuart Wilkins

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners