You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Rugby League Gold Coast Round 9 Preview

A 2017 grand final rematch between the Burleigh Bears and Runaway Bay Seagulls is the highlight match from Round 9 of the Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP A Grade Competition.

Coming off a win against Tweed Heads last weekend, Burleigh Bears coach Stuart Wilkins was exceptionally pleased with the effort and energy his team displayed against a strong Tweed side.

"The boys played a good quality game of football and completed sets beautifully, which is what we hadn't been doing," Wilkins said.

Wilkins saw results in the efforts that have been put into mentoring and guiding the young footballers.

There has been an improvement from the team that met Bay in Round 3 and the focus has shifted from worrying about the opposition to worrying about meeting their own standards and expectations.

The Bears are aware of the danger this Runaway Bay team poses, but were confident that if they performed the way they did last week, they will be hard to beat.

Runaway Bay started the season strongly, but continue to chase consistency with a run of injuries also taking a toll.

"We have reshuffled our side, even from last week and are fortunate that we have a lot of quality depth in the club that we can call upon," Runaway Bay Seagulls coach Nick Gleeson said.

They have been dealt a tough blow with the huge loss of halfback Falani Arkell for the season as well as front rowers Kingi Akauola and Erick Koelbel.

Centre Jamie Anderson will also be out this weekend fulfilling representative duties with the XXXX Queensland Rangers.

Burleigh will be coming up against a different team to what they faced in Round 3 and Gleeson acknowledged it would be a tough game.

At other grounds, the Currumbin Eagles will take on the Ormeau Shearers, Southport Tigers will host Bilambil Jets and the Tugun Seahawks will play Tweed Heads Seagulls.

Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP A Grade Round 9

Burleigh Bears v Runaway Bay at Pizzey Park, Saturday June 16 – 4.30pm

Burleigh Bears

1. Toby McIntosh 2. Jaxson Paulo 3. Justin Tavae 4. Josh Berkers 5. Ben Fritz 6. Josh Rogers 7. Matt Egan 8. Lochlyn Sheldon 9. Marino Allen 10. Jerome Veve 11. Kai O'Donnell 12. Darius Farmer 13. Api Noema-Matenga 14. Chris Law 15. Kaleb Fuimoano 16. Arron Shelford 17. Ben Valeni

Coach: Stuart Wilkins

Runaway Bay Seagulls

1. Jack Mackin 2. Steve Tolo 3. Daniel Kelly 4. Dylan Pelo 5. Jake Powell 6. Steve Rooney 7. Conner Toia 8. Javarn Nofoagatotoa 9. Henry Chan-Ting 10. Corey Tapsall 11. Jesse Malcom 12. Darcy Sims 13. Tane Rapira 14. Jenan Parrish 15. Jimmy Poland 16. Kimihia Pakipaki-Hemopo 17. Siua Likiliki

Coach: Nick Gleeson

Currumbin Eagles v Ormeau Shearers at Galleon Way, Saturday June 16 – 5.20pm

Currumbin Eagles

1. Ken Allison 2. Steve Elliot 3. Jakob Smith 4. Blake Anderson 5. Lachie Smith 6. Jake Gleeson 7. Phil Ramage 8. Jarrod Gill 9. Josh Sexton 10. Pele Peletelese 11. Liam Donnelly 12. Blake Morrison 13. Dayne Weston 14. Kieran Tarrant 15. Reece Worboys 16. Slade Amos 17. Michael Tiopora

Coach: Ryan Gundry

Ormeau Shearers

1. Michael Rasmussen 2. Aloesi Qio 3. Dion McClymont 4. Jone Macilai 5. Mathew Woods 6. Caleb Pirini 7. Nathan Wilson 8. Mohi Kendrick 9. Cody Evans 10. Rob Parry 11. Pheonix Su'a 12. Trent Shield 13. Lazeryth Su'a 14. Jaymz Te Rupe Douglas-Webb 15. Dallas Chase 16. Aati Su'a 17. Jordan Haim

Coach: Julius Kuresa

Southport Tigers v Bilambil Jets at Owen Park, Saturday June 16 – 5.30pm

Southport Tigers

1. Beau Cordtz 2. Corey Walker 3. Luke Ellis 4. Jonagh Gardiner 5. Tevita Folau 6. Jordan Birch 7. Zoram Watene 8. Denzal Ngati 9. Jacob Pottinger 10. Nathan Young 11. Tu WhakatihI 12. Senn Kane 13. Dallas Donnelly 14. Naz Monsall 15. Devon Toa 16. Reece Butler 17. Bronston Kennach

Coach: Mark Ross

Bilambil Jets

1. Ben Robinson-Patch 2. Conrad Green 3. Matt O'Rourke 4. Hayden Tolland 5. Nick Burns 6. Kobi Annand 7. Ben Black 8. MItch Spackman 9. Thomas Rowles 10. Harrison Burling 11. Kirren Roughley 12. Bailey Crompton 13. Jack Rowles 14. Tom Plater 15. Jack Welsh 16. Carne Rhodes 17. Damien Ford 18. Alex Fitzhugh 19. Harry Fitzhugh

Coach: Craig Rowles

Tugun Seahawks v Tweed Heads Seagulls at Boyd St, Sunday June 17 – 2pm

Tugun Seahawks

1. Corey Morris 2. Troy Canning 3. Savern Rapana 4. Kainoa Gudgeon
5. Elijah Barnes 6. Keanu Te Kiri 7. Zac Walsh 8. Shane Gillham 9. Robert Apanui
10. Nick Harrold 11. Ayden Lee 12. Bryce Thomas 13. Ash Harrison 14. Will Takave
15. Trent Smith 16. Mitch Willmot 17. Nat Swain

Coach: Clint Barends

Tweed Heads Seagulls

1. Jayden Baker 2. Macauley Dawson 3. Kurtis McDonald 4. Kodi Parsons 5.Tre Williams 6. Ethan Roberts 7. Rex Johnson 8. Mitch Sharp 9. Grant Garvey 10. Jordan Aiono 11. Sam Saville 12. Kirk Murphy 13 Josh Harvey 14. Reece Summer 15. Mike Gray 16. Tony Matautia 17. Rory Lillis

Coach: Kevin Campion

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners