You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Former Intrust Super Cup premiership player Wallace Solomona will line up for the Queensland Police team when they face NSW Police in Wollongong tonight.

Solomona, son of former New Zealand and Samoan Test player Se'e Solomona, was a member of the North Queensland Young Guns team which beat Burleigh in the 2005 grand final.

The Young Guns team, which contained Matt Scott, Gavin Cooper and a dozen other players to enjoy NRL careers, is often referenced as the strongest ever team in the state competition's history.

Just turned 33 this week and now a Crossfit competitor, Solomona will play in the second row for the Queenslanders in a curtain-raiser to the St George Illawarra v Parramatta Eels NRL match at WIN Stadium.

Along with teammates, he was presented his jersey by former Maroons great Mark Coyne.

The Queensland team are incumbent champions and are coached by former NRL forward Nick Paterson.

Danny Hess, cousin of State of Origin player Coen Hess, is assistant coach for Queensland.

Following tonight's match, the Queensland Police team will play the Affiliated States team on Friday, a squad which comprises the states of Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia, Tasmania and the Northern Territory.

An Australian Police team will be selected to face New Zealand Police on August 10 at Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland in the prelude to the Warriors v Newcastle Knights NRL game.


Game 1 - NSW Police RL Vs QLD Police RL

Posted by Australian Police Rugby League on Thursday, 28 June 2018




QLD Police v NSW Police 
Thursday, June 28, 5.45pm
WIN Stadium, Wollongong.

Queensland Squad
Rhys Bennet (Brisbane)
Tom Bissett (SEQ)
James Bartholomew (Wide Bay)
Daley Boney (FNQ)
Jake Carl (SEQ)
Andrew Cridland (CQ)
Andrew Dunkley (CQ)
Nathan Diehm (Brisbane)
Kyle Everett (SEQ)
Ben Gadsby (Brisbane)
Steve Holland (SEQ)
Alan Heldsinger (Mt Isa)
Ross Jenkins (Townsville)
Jarrod Knox (CQ)
Simon Lang (SEQ)
Dan McMah (Wide Bay)
Micheal O'Keefe (SEQ)
Troy O'Sullivan (FNQ)
Joe Parvin (FNQ)
Matt Resch (CQ)
Wallace Solomona (Townsville)
Brent Shorten (Brisbane)
Devon Tomuli (SEQ)

Coach : Nick Paterson
Assistant Coach: Danny Hess
Manager: Andy Linton
Manager: Damien Ahern
Head Trainer: Gary Zealand
Trainer: Russell Mundy
Trainer: Ben Sawden