You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Tigers must overcome Eagles in top-five pursuit

They meet again! Southport Tigers will take on Currumbin Eagles in what will be a rematch of Round 1.

The Tigers and Eagles match will be the highlighted match of Round 8 of the Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP A Grade Competition.

At this time of year most teams have a couple of players out through injury but the Southport Tigers will have 17 players putting in 110 per cent this weekend.

"Currumbin are the benchmark and we are going to put in a good solid effort and test ourselves against the benchmark," Southport Tigers coach Mark Ross said.

Process over outcome

Southport had worked hard on their discipline since the two teams met in Round 1 when the Eagles triumphed 30-26. The Tigers had taken the time to get systems and processes in place and were continuing to work towards their goal of finishing in the top five.

In what Ross believed would be a "battle of the forward packs", the Tigers whole psyche was about the process rather than the outcome.

Tough encounter tipped

Currumbin Eagles coach Ryan Gundry said: "We are under no illusion that this is going to be an easy game, Southport played well in Round 1 and we are expecting a tough battle."

With all players on deck and ready to improve on their Round 1 performance the club had some quality players who were working hard for each other.

Other matches

At other grounds, the Burleigh Bears will take on Tweed Heads Seagulls, Bilambil Jets will host the Ormeau Shearers and Tugun will play Runaway Bay.

Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP A Grade Round 8 Teams List

Burleigh Bears v Tweed Heads Seagulls at Pizzey Park, Saturday June 09th – 4:30pm

Burleigh Bears

1. Toby McIntosh, 2. Te McDonald 3. Josh Berkers 4. Justin Tavae 5. Mikey Williams
6. Josh Rogers 7. Matt Egan 8. Jerome Veve 9. Kai O'Donnell 10. Tyler Sparkes
11. Jesse Savage 12. Apii Noema-Matenga 13. Lochlyn Sheldon 14. Chris Law
15. Zac Akehurst 16. Kaleb Fuimaono 17. Ben Valeni

Coach: Stuart Wilkins

Tweed Heads Seagulls

1. Jayden baker 2. Tre Williams 3. Kurtis McDonald 4. Harry Hughes 5. Curtis Dansey-Smaller
6. Bailey Gill 7. Rex Johnson 8. Hiale Roycroft 9. Grant Garvey 10. Jordan Aiono
11. Sam Saville 12. Reece Summer 13. Josh Harvey 14. Kirk Murphy 15. Mike Gray
16. Macauley Dawson 17. Ethan Price

Coach: Kevin Campion

Bilambil Jets v Ormeau Shearers at Bilambil Sports, Sunday June 10th – 2pm

Bilambil Jets

1. Ben Robinson-Patch 2. Conrad Green 3. Matt O'Rourke 4 Hayden Tolland 5. Nick Burns
6. Kobi Annand 7. Ben Black 8. MItch Spackman 9. Thomas Rowles 10. Harrison Burling
11. Keiron Roughley 12. Bailey Crompton 13. Jack Rowles 14. Tom Plater 15. Jack Welsh
16. Will Malone 17. Damien Ford

Coach: Craig Rowles

Ormeau Shearers

1. Josh Walker 2. Aloesi Qio 3. Dion McClymont 4. Jone Macilai 5. Dion Belford-Laulu
6. Caleb Pirini 7. Nathan Wilson 8. Mohi Kendrick 9. Cody Evans 10. Rob Parry
11. Maranatha Raeli 12. Trent Shield 13. Shane BLOW 14. Jaymz Te Rupe Douglas-Webb 15. Dallas Chase 16. Aati Su'a 17. Lazeryth Su'a

Coach: Julius Kuresa

Southport Tigers v Currumbin Eagles at Owen Park, Sunday June 10th – 2pm

Southport Tigers

1. Beau Cordtz 2. Corey Walker 3. Jonagh Gardiner 4. Dallas Donnelly 5. Tevita Folau
6. Zane Harris 7. Zoram Watene 8. Denzal Ngati 9. Jacob Pottinger 10. Nathan Young
11. Tu Whakatihi (Capt) 12. Jaleel Sevi 13. Mick Esdale 14. Hala Masila 15. Naz Monsall
16. Senn Kane 17. Devon Toa 18. Bronson Kennach 19. Carlo Alimboyong
Coach: Mark Ross

Currumbin Eagles

1. Ken Allison 2. Steve Elliot 3. Jakob Smith 4. Blake Anderson 5. Joel Rapana
6. Mick Burgess 7. Phil Ramage 8. Jarrod Gill 9. Josh Campbell 10. Dayne Weston
11. Blake Morrison 12. Ryan Milligan 13. Reece Worboys 14. Liam Donnelly
15. Joshua Sexton 16. Chris Hodges 17. Ethan Williams

Coach: Ryan Gundry

Tugun Seahawks v Runaway Bay Seagulls at Boyd St, Sunday June 10th – 2pm

Tugun Seahawks

1. Nat Swain 2. Troy Canning 3. Savern Rapana 4. Kainoa Gudgeon 5. Elijah Barnes 6. Paul Sheedy 7. Zac Walsh 8. Shane Gillham 9. Fletch Harrold 10. Trent Smith 11. Rob Apanui 12. Ayden Lee 13. Nick Harrold 14. Bryce Thomas 15. Ash Harrison 16. Will Takave 17. Mitch Willmot

Coach: Clint Barends

Runaway Bay Seagulls

1. Jack Mackin 2. Steve Tolo 3. Jamie Anderson 4. Dylan Pelo 5. Jake Powell
6. Falani Arkell 7. Conner Toia 8. Ross Afoa 9. Henry Chan-Ting 10. Erick Koelbel
11. Jesse Malcom 12. Darcy Sims 13. Tane Rapira 14. Jenan Parrish 15. Steve Rooney
16. Siua LIKILIKI 17. Kimihia Pakipaki-Hemopo 18. Ethan Mafi

Coach: Nick Gleeson

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners