You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Battle of the birds in Round 12 as Gulls host Eagles

Tweed Heads Seagulls will host the Currumbin Eagles on Sunday in the highlighted match of Round 12 of Rugby League Gold Coast's QTOP A Grade Competition.

The Seagulls, currently sitting in second place, have their sights set on finals as they prepare for Sunday's top of the table clash.

"The team's effort has been outstanding throughout the year, despite not having the same line up each week," Tweed Heads Seagulls coach Kevin Campion said.

"We play a very simple football game, so everyone understands their role in the team each week."

Their depth has been tested in recent weeks with the likes of Bayley Gill, Tre Williams and Jack Peacock only some of the previous Under 20s stepping up to the plate.

The Seagulls are ready for a physically and mentally tough match this weekend and hope to limit their mistakes on the field.

Their opposition, the Currumbin Eagles, are flying high and have maintained their place at the top of the ladder for eight consecutive weeks.

They had some minor setbacks, suffering two losses prior to the bye weekend, the team's attitude and mindset have been unquestioned.

"Although no one likes losing, it has allowed us to recalibrate and reset heading into the business end of the season," Currumbin Eagles coach Ryan Gundry said.

Understanding the club has a target on their back being at the top of the ladder, the Eagles know it is a matter of getting the balance right and building key combinations.

Gundry is happy that the team is looking good, improving each week and players are working hard to earn their spots.

Having identified their previous encounter with Tweed in Round 2 their hardest, most physical game to date, the Currumbin Eagles know what to expect when they hit the road this weekend.

At other grounds, the Bilambil Jets will host the Runaway Bay Seagulls, Burleigh head north to the Ormeau Shearers and down south Tugun play Southport for the battle of fourth place.

Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP A Grade Round 12 Teams Lists

Tweed Heads Seagulls v Currumbin Eagles at Piggabeen Sports, Sunday July 15 – 12.30pm

Tweed Heads Seagulls

1. Jayden Baker 2. Curtis Dansey-Smaller 3. Tony Matautia 4.Ethan Roberts 5. Macauley Dawson 6. Tre Williams 7. Bayley Gill 8. Mitch Sharp 9. Rex Johnson 10. Mick Grey 11. Reece Summer 12. Kirk Murphy 13. Kalani Going 14. Ethan Price 15. Rory Lillis 16. Harry Hughes 17. Jack Peacock

Coach: Kevin Campion 

Currumbin Eagles 

1. Hayden Allsop 2. Steve Elliott 3. Joel Rapana 4. Ken Allison 5. Kurt Perry 6. Travis Drought 7. Phil Ramage 8. Dayne Weston 9. Daniel Webb 10. Pele Peletelese 11. Liam Donnelly 12. Jakob Smith 13. Jarrod Gill 14. Jake Gleeson 15. James Munckton 16. Chris Hodges 17. Zane Wilshire

Coach: Ryan Gundry 

Bilambil Jets v Runaway Bay Seagulls at Bilambil Sports, Sunday July 15 – 2pm

Bilambil Jets

1. Ben Robinson-Patch 2. Conrad Green 3. Matt O’Rourke 4. Hayden Tolland 5. Nick Burns 6. Carne Rhodes 7. Ben Black 8. Mitch Spackman 9. Alex Fitzhugh 10. Will Malone 11. Kirren Roughley 12. Bailey Crompton 13. Drew McCullough 14. Tom Condon 15. Damien Ford 16. Jack Welsh 18. Brendan Welsh

Coach: Craig Rowles

Runaway Bay Seagulls

1. Jack Mackin 2. Harry Hill 3. Jamie Anderson 4. Daniel Kelly 5. Jake Powell 6. Jimmy Poland 7. Conner Toia 8. Javarn Nofoagatotoa 9. Henry Chan-Ting 10. Jesse Malcolm 11. Dylan Pelo 12. Darcy Sims 13. Tane Rapira 14. Jenan Parrish 16. Siua Likiliki 17. Kimihia Pakipaki-Hemopo

Coach: Nick Gleeson

Ormeau Shearers v Burleigh Bears at Brien Harris Oval, Sunday July 15 – 2pm

Ormeau Shearers

1. Michael Rasmussen 2. Hirini Robin 3. Caleb Pirini 4. Joshua Walker 5. Shay Stevens 6. Grayson Te Kiri 7. Nathan Wilson 8. Mohi Kendrick 9. Cody Evans 10. Jaymz Douglas-Webb 11. Pheonix Su’a 12. Dion Belfor-Laulu 13. Maranatha Raeli 14. Shane Blow 15. Connor Hohepa 16. Aati Su’a

Coach: Julius Kuresa 

Burleigh Bears

1. Jaxson Paulo 2. Mikey Williams 3. Justin Tavae 4. Josh Berkers 5. Te McDonald 6. Taine Tuaupiki 7. Matt Egan 8. Kaleb Fuimoano 9. Zae Wallace 10.Jerome Veve 11. Api Noema-Matenga 12. Darius Farmer 13. Lochlyn Sheldon 14. Tyler Szepanowski 15. Allan Lockwood 16. Ben Walen 17. Marino Allen

Coach: Stuart Wilkins 

Tugun Seahawks v Southport Tigers at Boyd Street, Sunday July 15 – 2pm

Tugun Seahawks

1. Corey Morris 2. Nathanael Barnes 3. Savern Rapana 4. Ayden Lee 5. Jai Veli 6. Kainoa Gudgeon 7. Keanu Te Kiri 8. Bryce Thomas 9. Paul Sheedy 10. Trent Smith 11. Shane Gray 12. Mitch Willmot 13. Nick Harrold 14. Nat Swain 15. Darby Rule

Coach: Clint Barends 

Southport Tigers 

1. Beau Cordtz 2. Corey Walker 3. Tevita Folau 4. Luke Ellis 5. Carlo Alimboyong 6. Zoram Watene 7. Kane Rudolph 8. Denzal Ngati 9. Jacob Pottinger (c) 10. Nathan Young 11. Tu Whakatihi 12. Devon Toa 13. Judaea Monsall 14. Hala Masila 15. Bronston Kennach 16. Gideon Afemui

Coach: Mark Ross

QTOP A Grade Ladder   
1. Currumbin Eagles  29  +112 
2. Tweed Heads Seagulls  25  +117 
3. Runaway Bay Seagulls  24  +44 
4. Tugun Seahawks  23  -15 
5. Southport Tigers  23  -32 
6. Burleigh Bears  21  +42 
7. Bilambil Jets  17 
8. Ormeau Shearers  11  -310 
Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners