You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Rugby League Gold Coast Round 14 preview

The Burleigh Bears host the Tugun Seahawks in this week's highlighted game for Round 14 of the Rugby League Gold Coast QTOP A Grade Competition.

Burleigh are attempting to make it five weeks unbeaten and are fresh off defeating top of the ladder Currumbin Eagles last week.

"We played one of our best games of the season against Currumbin and just out enthused them in a great game of football," Burleigh Bears coach Stuart Wilkins said.

Finally starting to see some consistency in their playing roster, the team is starting to gel and understand what is required of them each week.

Wilkins is quite happy with the team's current performance and attitude and he knows what it takes to get into finals contention.

The team will see Jeff Lynch, Josh Rogers, Josh Berkers and Jesse Savage return and they know exactly what to expect from the Tugun sides.

Defeating Burleigh in their last encounter back in Round 7, the Tugun Seahawks are looking strong following their win against the Bilambil Jets.

As the Seahawks see consistency within their playing roster, their second half of the season has seen a mix of wins and losses.

The match up against the Bears will be a physical and solid game of football and the Seahawks side knows they will need to keep up with the young and fit Burleigh side.

At other grounds, the Southport Tigers will host the Ormeau Shearers, Bilambil and Currumbin will go head-to-head in a local derby and down south Tweed play fellow seagulls Runaway Bay.

Southport Tigers v Ormeau Shearers at Owen Park, Saturday July 28 – 5.30pm

Southport Tigers

1. Beau Cordtz 2. Jack Conlan 3. Corey Walker 4. Jonagh Gardiner 5. Callum Boomer 6. Zoram Watene 7. Chris Thomas 8. Denzal Ngati 9. Kane Rudolph 10. Nathan Young 11. Jaleel Seve 12. Simione Ata 13. Tu Whakatihi (c) 14. Hala Masila 15. Judaea Monsall 16. Iddeon Afemui

Coach: Mark Ross

Ormeau Shearers

1. Shay Stevens 2. Dion Belford-Laulu 3. Hirini Robin 4. Joshua Walker 5. Aloesi Qio 6. Grayson Te Kiri 7. Connor Hohepa 8. Mohi Kendrick 9. Cody Evans 10. Aati Su'a 11. Jone Macilai 12. Trent Sheild 13. Shane Blow 14. Pheonix Su'a 15. Parau Smith 16. Maranatha Raeli 17. Jaymz Douglas-Webb

Coach: Julius Kuresa

Burleigh Bears v Tugun Seahawks at Pizzey Park, Sunday July 29 – 1.30pm

Burleigh Bears

1. Jaxson Paulo 2. Mikey Williams 3. Justin Tavae 4. Josh Berkers 5. Te McDonald 6. Josh Rogers 7. Matt Egan 8. Kaleb Fuimaono 9. Zae Wallace 10. Tyler Sparkes 11. Daruis Farmer 12. Jesse Savage 13. Jeff Lynch 14. Ben Valeni 15. Api Noema 16. Marino Allen 17. Tyler Szepanowski 18. Arron Shelford

Coach: Stuart Wilkins

Tugun Seahawks

1. Nat Swain 2. Nathanael Barnes 3. Savern Rapana 4. Jai Veli 5. Kainoa Gudgeon 6. Tayler Sorenson 7. Zac Walsh 8. Bryce Thomas 9. Paul Sheedy 10. Nick Harrold 11. Anthony Gray 12. Rob Apanui 13. Ayden Lee 14. Dan Goddard 15. Trent Smith 16. Shane Gillham 17. Mitch Willmot

Coach: Clint Barends

Bilambil Jets v Currumbin Eagles at Bilambil Jets, Sunday July 29 – 2pm

Bilambil Jets

1. Ben Robinson-Patch 2. Jack Welsh 3. Alex Fitzhugh 4. Matt O'Rourke 5. Luke Jaegar 6. Conrad Green 7. Carne Rhodes 8. Mitch Spackman 9. Tom Plater 10. Harrison Burling 11. Kirren Roughley 12. Bailey Compton 13. Drew McCullough 14. Tom Rowles 15. Harry Fitzhugh 16. Damien Ford 17. Brendan Welsh

Coach: Craig Rowles

Currumbin Eagles

1. Hayden Allsop 2. Steve Elliott 3. Jakob Smith 4. Ken Allison 5. Kurt Perry 6. Michael Burgess 7. Phil Ramage 8. Jarrod Gill 9. Josh Campbell 10. Pele Peletelese 11. Liam Donnelly 12. Ryan Milligan 13. Daniel Webb 14. Jake Gleeson 15. Ethan Williams 16. Michael Tiopira 17. Joel Rapana

Coach: Ryan Gundry

Tweed Heads Seagulls v Runaway Bay Seagulls at Piggabeen Sports, Sunday July 29 – 3pm

Tweed Heads Seagulls

1. Jayden Baker 2. Curtis Dansey-Smaller 3. Tony Matautia 4. Ethan Roberts 5. Macauley Dawson 6. Tre Williams 7. Bailey Gill 8. Mitch Sharp 9. Rex Johnson 10. Mick Grey 11. Reece Summer 12. Kirk Murpy 13. Kalani Going 14. Ethan Price 15. Rory Lillis 16. Harry Highes 17. Jack Peacock

Coach: Kevin Campion

Runaway Bay Seagulls

1. Jack Mackin 2. Ben Fritz 3. Jamie Anderson 4. Daniel Kelly 5. Jake Powell 6. Jimmy Poland 7. Conner Toia 8. Javarn Nofoagatotoa 9. Henry Chan-Ting 10. Jesse Malcolm 11. Darcy Sims 12. Dylan Pelo 13. Tane Rapira 14. Kimihia Pakipaki-Hemopo 15. Jenan Parrish 16. Steve Rooney

Coach: Nick Gleeson

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners