You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Winners as they happened: QRL Awards blog

Welcome to the QRL Annual Awards Gala evening at Brisbane City Hall, where we will be bringing you all the colour and winners from the evening. 


And the big award of the night! Up against some of the best young talents emerging in the game, powerful forward Nat Neale of the Ipswich Jets has won the inaugural Petero Civoniceva Medal as best and fairest in the Intrust Super Cup in 2018.


Hastings Deering Colts Under 20s Player of the Year is Shannon Gardiner of Wynnum Manly Seagulls


Mal Meninga Cup Player of the Year is none other than ... David Fifita of the Souths Logan Magpies.


The full Intrust Super Cup Team of the Year, presented by Stage and Screen Travel Services:

Fullback: Scott Drinkwater (Easts Tigers)
Winger: Kalifa Faifai-Loa (Townsville Blackhawks)
Centre: Kotoni Staggs (Redcliffe Dolphins)
Five-Eighth: Billy Walters (Easts Tigers)
Halfback: Jake Clifford (Northern Pride)
Prop: Nathaniel Neale (Ipswich Jets)
Hooker: Pat Politoni (Burleigh Bears)
Second Row: Patrick Kaufusi (Easts Tigers)
Lock: Jamil Hopoate (Redcliffe Dolphins)
Coach: Ty Williams (Northern Pride)


Pedro Gallagher Award for Rookie of the Year, presented by the Carbine Club: Jake Clifford (Northern Pride)


A stirring video of their 7 years in drought and 30 years between premierships has preceded the Blackall Magpies as the QRL Grassroots Club of the Year.


Mei-Lin Dean of South Burnett Rugby League has been announced as the Women in League Award recipient for her great work with forming female development pathways in her region


QRL Managing Director Rob Moore presents the Volunteer of the Year Award to Barry Beswick of the Edmonton Storm Junior Rugby League in Cairns Di


The man who lends his name to tonight's major award - the Petero Civoniceva Medal - is currently on stage talking to compere Peter Psaltis.


Guests have been enjoying some light entertainment and a choice of the salmon or beef for mains as we await the second segment of awards. 

Experiencing some internet connectivity issues here. Stick with us.





Confirmation of the Leading Point Scorer of the Year - Guy Hamilton (Souths Logan)

And tied for Equal Leading Try Scorer - Michael Purcell (Ipswich) and Daniel Ogden (Wynnum Manly)


Steph Hancock wins the Harvey Norman Women's Representative Player of the Year Award. Good on you Steph!


7:25pm Early award winners confirmed:

Hastings Deering Colts Minor Premiers - Townsville Blackhawks
Intrust Super Cup Minor Premiers - Redcliffe Dolphins
Club Champions: Norths Devils


7:19pm MC Kimberley Busteed has just announced the Top 5 finishers for the #IntrustSuperCup Petero Civoniceva Medal (in alphabetic order) are:


Final finishing order to be announced at the end of the night.



7:15pm Former State of Origin player Scott Sattler and fellow commentator Peter Psaltis are on stage discussing the strength of the #IntrustSuperCup. The first award due to be presented is the Hastings Deerings Colt minor premiers.

7:09pm Guests have been mingling on the catwalk. Now the time for the big awards.

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners