You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has created history by becoming the first Warriors player to take out the Dally M Medal at Wednesday's awards night in Sydney.

Tuivasa-Sheck earned 14 points in the last nine rounds of the competition to finish on top of the leaderboard with 29 points, two ahead of Newcastle fullback Kalyn Ponga following a dramatic final round of voting.

The 25-year-old tallied three points in the round 25 clash against Canberra to overtake Ponga and Wests Tigers halfback Brooks in the final round.

Ponga missed the last week of the Telstra Premiership season with an ankle injury, while Brooks (26 points) failed to record a point over the final three rounds.

Sharks fullback Valentine Holmes came in at fourth in the voting after a strong back half of the year, followed by Knights halfback Mitchell Pearce on 23 points, who missed three months of the regular season with a pectoral injury.

Tuivasa-Sheck was pivotal in guiding the Warriors into their first finals appearance in seven years season and is the second Kiwi international (after Jason Taumalolo) to win the award.

He finished third behind Blake Ferguson and James Tedesco in total running metres for the season and second behind Holmes in kick return metres.

He tallied three tries, eight try assists, 13 line breaks and 112 tackle breaks for the season.

Tuivasa-Sheck was also awarded the fullback of the year accolade as the team of the year was announced.

"It's unbelievable, I'm blown away to be receiving this award," Tuivasa-Sheck said.

"I'm truly proud of my club at the Warriors, they dug deep and came out to get the boys buzzing again.

"This goes back to them, I'm proud I can take it back to Auckland. To walk away with this, I'm truly grateful."

In a special moment as Tuivasa-Sheck finished thanking the crowd, Warriors teammates Issac Luke and Jazz Tevaga started a celebratory cultural haka, and was soon joined by Raiders winger and Kiwi teammate Jordan Rapana.

"That was just crazy," Tuivasa-Sheck said.

"Where I'm from in New Zealand that's a special moment for me. I've seen it done for a lot of special people.

"It's such a big occasion back home when something special happens, to acknowledge it. To stand there and receive it is special."

RTS enjoys Haka from Kiwi team-mates

In other team awards, Blake Ferguson took out the top gong for best winger, while Canberra's Joey Leilua was judged best centre.

Melbourne five-eighth Cameron Munster took out the positional award in the No.6 jersey, while Brooks earned halfback of the year accolades.

South Sydney's Damien Cook took out hooker of the year and the Provan Summons medal, while Anthony Seibold was judged best coach.

Cronulla's Andrew Fifita was awarded best prop with former NSW teammate Josh Jackson named second-rower of the year.

North Queensland's Jason Taumalolo finished as best lock, while Jazz Tevaga was named best interchange player.

Cameron Smith was named captain of the year in the lead up to Sunday's NRL grand final.

Brisbane women's hooker Brittany Breayley was named 2018 Dally M female player of the year.

In the off-field awards, Gold Coast Titans captain Ryan James was awarded the Ken Stephen Medal, while the Peter Frilingos Headline Moment of the year went to the NRL Holden Women's State of Origin even in June.  

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners