You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Redcliffe Dolphins toast successful season

The Redcliffe Dolphins celebrated their Intrust Super Cup championship winning season last Friday night, with their player of the year presentations recognising their key performers on the field.

Players from their Under 20 Hastings Deering Colts side and grand finalists in the BRL A Grade In Safe Hands Cup competition were also acknowledged by their peers.

The Peter Leis award for Intrust Super Cup player of the year came down to a tight race; with Cronulla-bound forward Toby Rudolf just pipping his good friend Sam Anderson in the voting.

The final points tally was Toby Rudolf 57, Sam Anderson 56, Jamil Hopoate 39, Kotoni Staggs 34 with Nathan Watts and Cameron Cullen both finishing with 25 points.

The Player of the Year Award named in honour of one of the Dolphins’ favourite sons, and regarded by many, including Dick “Tosser” Turner, as the best player to ever play for Redcliffe.

Peter Leis played for the Dolphins from 1966-1969 and 1971-1981 amassing 261 first grade games, a record which stood until 2006 when Troy Lindsay surpassed him.

Since the year 2000, the award was named in his honour and has been bestowed on the likes of James Hinchey, Adam Mogg, Shane Perry, Danny Burke, Michael Roberts, Troy Lindsay, Nick Slyney, Petero Civoniceva, Anthony Cherrington and Sam Anderson.

At each Intrust Super Cup match three judges allocate 3-2-1 votes to the players they judge to be the best three players on the field for the Dolphins. The winner receives a $3000 travel voucher, courtesy of sponsor Redcliffe Cruise and Travel.

Every year, Peter and his wife Nerida attend presentation night to celebrate and present the medal; but unfortunately, this year, Peter’s health did not permit him to join.

However, Nerida spoke to the assembled audience about what it meant to her husband to have the award named in his honour.

“Peter lived for Redcliffe footy. He loved every minute of being part of playing the game and the mateship,” she said.

“He was so honoured to have the medal named after him and looked forward each year to going to the games and watching each player.

“He wanted to know how each player performed and he wanted the players to know he cared about the team and Redcliffe’s results for the season. He didn’t want his name on the trophy to be an unknown, to mean nothing to the players.”

See the full list of winners below.

Intrust Super Cup

Peter Leis Medallist (Redcliffe Cruise & Travel Player of the Year) – Toby Rudolf
Tony Obst Player’s Player – Kotoni Staggs
Best Player in the Intrust Super Cup grand final – Trai Fuller
Best Player in the (Intrust Super Championship) National Final – Sam Anderson

BRL A Grade – In Safe Hands

Best & Fairest – Will Partridge
Best Forward – Tristan Hope
Best Player in the BRL A Grade grand final – Samson Graham

Hastings Deering Colts

Best & Fairest – Oscar Carter
Best Back – Kyle Foxwell 

Redcliffe Dolphins Club Awards

Des Webb Clubman of the Year – Graham Wise
Dick “Tosser” Turner Colt of the Year – Jayden Newbould
Ian “Bunny” Pearce Highest Point Scorer –  Oscar Carter 182 points 10 tries 71 goals
Wally Fullerton-Smith Hit of the Year – Sam Anderson & James Taylor
Try of the Year – Aaron Whitchurch

All Photos: Kylie Jackson Photography