You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Pat leads poll to crown Burleigh's best

Following on from another consistent season; Burleigh Bears hooker Pat Politoni was recently named the club’s Intrust Super Cup Player of the Year at their annual awards night.

Politoni, a premiership winner with the Bears in 2016 who went past 50 games for the club this season, picked up the Brian Swaddling Memorial Player’s Player award in addition to the Best and Fairest award.

The 27-year-old hooker was instrumental in guiding the Bears to second place on the Intrust Super Cup ladder.

He led the Intrust Super Cup in try assists and line-break assists and also led the competition with 836 tackles.

His consistent form saw him named Hooker of the Year at the 2018 QRL Awards Dinner and earned him selection in the XXXX Queensland Residents team.

Other Intrust Super Cup awards went to Bears skipper Luke Page, who was named Best Forward, while Jamie Dowling picked up the Coach’s Award.

Rona Peters, who this year was an instrumental part of the Brisbane Broncos team that won the inaugural NRLW Premiership, picked up the best and fairest award for the Burleigh Women’s team.

Peters was one of the cornerstones of their fourth consecutive premiership victory which they completed back in August. Tazmin Gray, who lined up for the Roosters in the NRLW grand final and most recently made her Jillaroos debut, picked up both the Coach’s Award and the Player’s Player.

Paul Bedggood picked up the Neville Rowland Memorial Award for Club Person of the Year, while Kai O’Donnell was named Ray McCarron Rookie of the Year.

Other best and fairest winners included Reece Tapine (Hastings Deering Colts), Josh Berkers (A Grade), Jordan Hornburg (Reserve Grade), Jackson Gisinger (Under 19) and Jayden Campbell (Mal Meninga Cup).

Full list of winners below.

Intrust Super Cup

Shane O’Flanagan Best Forward: Luke Page
Coach’s Award: Jamie Dowling
Brian Swaddling Memorial Players’ Player: Pat Politoni
Best and Fairest: Pat Politoni

Women’s A Grade

Coach’s Award: Tazmin Gray   
Players’ Player: Tazmin Gray
Best and Fairest: Rona Peters

Club Awards

Neville Rowland Memorial Club Person of the Year: Paul Bedggood
Ray McCarron Rookie of the Year Award: Kai O’Donnell
Joe Tangata-Toa Most Courageous Award: Tyler Sparkes
Pat Shannon Memorial Sportsman of the Year: Josh Ailaomai

Hastings Deering Colts (Under 20s)

Coach’s Award: Taine Tuaupiki and Lochlyn Sheldon
Players’ Player: Sean Garner
Best and Fairest: Reece Tapine

Mal Meninga Cup (Under 18)

Coach’s Award: Jayden Campbell
Players’ Player: Zac McCormack
Best and Fairest: Jayden Campbell

A Grade

Eric Smith Best Forward: Tyler Sparkes
Coach’s Award: MarinoAllen
Players’ Player: Mike Williams
Best and Fairest: Josh Berkers

Reserve Grade

Coach’s Award: Damian McTighe
Players’ Player: Adrian Baker
Best and Fairest: Jordan Hornburg

Under 19s

Coach’s Award: Brock Hughes
Players’ Player: Latrell Howe-Smith
Best and Fairest: Jackson Gisinger

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners