You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Tigers aim to stay unbeaten as Phins chase first win

The unbeaten Easts Tigers will be chasing their third straight win when they play their first home game at Langlands Park against the Diehards in Round 3 of the In Safe Hands Cup.

Easts coach Jason Di Lizio has named a similar line up to the one that defeated the Magpies last Sunday at Davies Park.

Both sides have the short turn around and will need to get out to an early lead as fatigue may be a factor at the back end of the contest on Saturday afternoon.

Valleys’ trademark fighting spirit was on show last week as they came within two points of chasing down a 20-point deficit against the Seagulls at BMD Kougari Oval.

The Diehards have some players showing early form, in particular, fullback Jayden Baker. Baker was everywhere last week and will look to inject himself again on the back of good meterage by the big men up front.

Meanwhile, the high-flying, try-scoring machine Luke Archer continues to impress and push for selection in the Norths Devils Intrust Super Cup side.

Easts, though, have been the form side of the competition since the opening minutes of Round 1 against the Dolphins.

While fullback Brandon Downey has been renowned for his attack, the rangy number one’s defence has been a feature thus far.

Tigers forwards have been racking up the tries after the first two weeks. Justin Fai was damaging last week and was rewarded with a four pointer and the Diehards will need to be wary of the whole 17 as they look to register their second win.

Over at Dolphin Stadium, Redcliffe and the Magpies will play the curtain raiser to the Intrust Super Cup game between the two clubs.

A big Saturday afternoon crowd at Dolphin Stadium should give the home side an advantage, as the red and white army will be in full voice.

Redcliffe have yet to taste victory this year and will need to be better than the 80 minutes they put on the park last week at Frank Lind Oval against the Panthers.

Coach Danial Green has had similar starts in the past, but has come home strong at the back end of the season.

The Dolphins will be desperate, and the Magpies never shy away from a contest. If punters are looking to seeing a forward battle, then this will not disappoint.

Finally, the Panthers will travel to BMD Kougari Oval where they will meet a Seagulls outfit that were nearly run down by the Diehards last week.

The match ups across the two squads are endless. The Panthers have last season’s Panther of the year Adam Harris at hooker to take on Seagulls Tristan Hope.

Kyle Van Klaveren and Matthew Milson face off at fullback, young buck Kane Zalewski and the master John Te Reo square off in the halves, Chris Gesch and Lachlan Lee go head-to-head in the front row and Rahdly Brawa and Troy Swift go at it in the back row.

With plenty of Intrust Super Cup talent on show, this should be a beauty, with the Panthers seeking revenge after the Seagulls proved too strong in their last encounter in the qualifying final in August last year.

In Safe Hands Cup Round 3

Saturday, March 30 - Tigers v Diehards - Langlands Park, 2pm


1. Brandon Downey 2. Matt Ruthenburg 3. Max Felosi 4. Keenan Yorston 5. Aaron Piddock 6. Nathan Brown 7. Kyle Coghill 8. Justin Fai 9. Chris Ostwald 10. Jaiyden Hunt 11. Jack Anderson 12. Jack Peoples 13. Jesse Uhlmann 14. Jack Walters 15. Lachlan Barr 16. Lachlan Lanskey 17. Lachlan Foulds

Coach: Jason Di Lizio


1. Jayden Baker 2. David Faiud 3. Henry Penn 4. Sam Collins 5.  Luke Archer 6. Brad Frith 7. Simon Brittain-Snowden 8. Joe McGuire 9. Zac Friend 10. Patrick Akaoula 11. Ethan Richards 12. Joe Bradley 13. Moses Noovao-McGreal 14. Liam Horne 15. Reed young 16. Jacob Kelly 17. Perry Ioane

Coach: Craig Kennedy

Saturday, March 30 - Dolphins v Magpies - Dolphin Oval, 4.15pm


1. Regan Baker 2. Michael Walit 3. Sam Leach 4. Justice Utatao 5. Corban Daniels 6. Reece Braun 7. Kyle Foxwell 8. Bailey Butler 9. Oscar Carter 10. Kian Shead 11. Josh Rudolph 12. James Flack 13. Fiatotoa Fiatotoa 14. Ben King 15. Zeve John 16. Tyson Cleal 17. Tevita Mapapalangi

Coach: Daniel Green


1. Samsoni Vaiolati 2. Willie Malala 3. Tommy Sau 4. Cameron Booth 5. Joey La La 6. Haydn O’Hara 7. Josh Bowen Bowyer 8. Kobe Tararo 9. Savarn Tahere 10. Rhys Melville 11. Jerome Vave 12. Shaq Gafa 13. Cody McIntosh 14. Derek Hemopo 15. Bruce Ten 16. Luke Burton 17. Brett Ferguson

Coach: Darren Ferricks

Sunday, March 31 - Seagulls v Panthers - BMD Kougari Oval, 3.45pm


1. Matthew Milson 2. Andrew Richardson 3. Harlan Collins 4. Rashaun Denny 5. Jack Goodsell 6. John Te Reo 7. Reece McKenzie-O’Brien 8. Lachlan Lee 9. Tristan Hope 10. Semisi Ahoafi 11. Salesi Funaki 12. Sam Elliott 13. Rahdly Brawa 14. Andrew Clayton 15.  Brad Mana 16. James Mirceski 17. Jacob Paulo

Coach: Ron Troutman


1. Kyle Van Klaveren 2. Campbell Mohr 3. Kahn Ahwang 4. Kennedy Pettyborne 5. James Olds 6. Kane Zalewski 7. Mackenzie Reid 8. Chris Gesch 9. Adam Harris 10. Johnnie Fox 11. Baylee Byrne-Perrett 12. Troy Swift 13. Jordan Brown 16. Stephen Buckley 17. Shane Pumipi 18. Keelyn Tuuta 20. Foisa Peni

Coach: Wayne Weekes

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners