You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Beetson and fellow Immortal Bob Fulton hold the Wills Cup up after the Roosters win in the 1977 Pres-season final.

On this day, the Team of the Century is announced at a gala ceremony in Sydney, Andrew Johns suffers a broken jaw and Craig Frawley produces a classic tackle to deny Matt Bowen.


Craig Simon is born. Part of a strong rugby league family, Simon scored eight tries in 54 games for the Illawarra Steelers from 1992-96 before briefly returning to the club in 1998 for seven games. He played 18 games with the Rabbitohs in 1997 and 59 games in the UK Super League for Hull FC and Gateshead. Simon's brother John played 230 games with five different clubs and represented NSW and Australia.


Lindsay Collins is born in Brisbane. Collins is in his sixth year with the Roosters and has played 54 games. He missed most of 2021 with a serious knee injury. He made his Origin debut for Queensland in 2020, playing in all three matches as the Maroons pulled off a shock series win.


The NRL launch an investigation into the brawl between North Queensland and Auckland. Seven players face charges over the incident... Andrew Johns' manager John Fordham accuses Test selectors of being "gutless" for failing to select the best players by position. Johns withdraws from the Test team with a groin injury ... Brett Mullins is fined $25,000 for pushing teammate Mark McLinden.


Brisbane winger Craig Frawley produces one of the tackles of the season to deny North Queensland fullback Matt Bowen a try and a possible golden point finish at Dairy Farmers Stadium. The Broncos win 19-12.

Former Cowboys star Matt Bowen.
Former Cowboys star Matt Bowen. ©NRL Photos


Andrew Johns' horror run of injuries continues when he sustains a broken jaw in Newcastle's clash with the Warriors at EnergyAustralia Stadium. The Knights lead 26-16 when Johns leaves the field after 56 minutes but concede three quick tries to lose 30-26. Johns faces up to eight weeks on the sidelines.


Matai bags his first NRL try


The Australian Rugby League's Team of the Century is announced at a lavish Centenary dinner at Sydney's Royal Hall of Industries. The team is: Clive Churchill, Ken Irvine, Reg Gasnier, Mal Meninga, Brian Bevan, Wally Lewis, Andrew Johns, Arthur Beetson, Noel Kelly, Duncan Hall, Norm Provan, Ron Coote, John Raper. Reserves are Herbert 'Dally' Messenger, Bob Fulton, Graeme Langlands and Frank Burge, while Jack Gibson is named coach.

Bevan chaired off after his last home game for Warrington.
Bevan chaired off after his last home game for Warrington.


St George Illawarra five-eighth Jamie Soward signs a four-year deal with Penrith, starting in 2014.


The Parramatta Eels officially launch their new home ground of Bankwest Stadium with an open training session, with 8000 fans attending.


This article contains information from the official records of NRL historian David Middleton.

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners