You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
The Broncos celebrate their NRLW 2019 premiership.

Premiers Brisbane and grand finalists Sydney Roosters are set to appoint new coaches for the upcoming Holden Women’s NRL Premiership after confirmation that Paul Dyer and Adam Hartigan would not continue in the roles this season.

Dyer guided the Broncos to the inaugural NRLW title with a 34-12 defeat of Hartigan’s Roosters in the 2018 grand final at ANZ Stadium but both have stepped aside to focus on other roles at their clubs this season.

The Broncos and Roosters are yet to announce their replacements for the 2019 NRLW season but are expected to do so soon as clubs are keen to begin contracting players.

St George Illawarra will again be coached by Daniel Lacey, who guided the Illawarra Steelers Under 18s team to victory in last Saturday’s Tarsha Gale Cup grand final against Newcastle at Bankwest Stadium.

Lacey has been appointed coach of the NSW Under 18 side to play Queensland in the curtain-raiser to the women’s State of Origin at North Sydney Oval on June 21.

Former Broncos women's coach Paul Dyer.
Former Broncos women's coach Paul Dyer. ©Scott Davis/NRL Photos

Former Kiwi Fern Luisa Avaiki is preparing for her second season as coach of the Warriors, who appear to be the furthest advanced of clubs in this year’s women’s NRL premiership.

The Warriors held trials in Christchurch last month and have selected a 35-strong squad ahead of the NRLW premiership, which will again be a four-team competition played during the NRL finals series.

The squad includes former Fiji rugby sevens players Timaima Ravisa, Jiowana Sauto and Roela Radiniyavuni.

Meanwhile, seven members of the Dragons’ 2018 NRLW squad have been named in the NSW Country team to play at the National Championships in Burleigh from May 30 to June 2.

Kezie Apps, Keely Davis, Rikeya Horne, Melanie Howard, Hannah Southwell, Shakiah Tungai and Holli Wheeler will represent NSW Country in the six-team tournament, which includes teams from NSW City, Queensland Country, Queensland City, Combined Affiliated States and the Australian Defence Force.

Roosters quartet Ruan Sims, Vanessa Foliaki, Isabelle Kelly and Kylie Hilder are also in the NSW Country team.

Acknowledgement of Country

Queensland Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partners

View All Partners