You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Queensland Under 18 team named

The QRL is pleased to announce the Queensland Under 18 team to play New South Wales in the annual interstate clash at Suncorp Stadium.

Coach Kurt Richards and his players will assemble in Brisbane this Thursday to begin preparations for the June 5 clash, which will be played before the opening match of the Holden State of Origin series.

Queensland’s next generation of emerging talent will run against the Maroons Origin team on Friday.

Nine clubs from the Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup are represented in this year’s team.

State and National champions – Tweed Seagulls – have the highest representation with six players named to take on the young Blues.

The Seagulls carried their scintillating form in the Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup through to the National Under 18 final, where they defeated the Illawarra Steelers 48-14 earlier this month.

Tweed’s Queensland contingent of Xavier Coates, Juwan Compain, Brendan Piakura, Carsil Vaikai, Reece Walsh and Toby Sexton were rewarded for their consistent form with selection in Queensland’s squad.

Queensland Under 18s

Xavier Coates – Tweed Seagulls

Juwan Compain – Tweed Seagulls

Harrison Graham – Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Reece Hoffman – Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Jack Howarth – Easts Tigers

Joshua James – Norths Devils

Alofiana Khan-Pereira – Burleigh Bears

Trent Loiero – Sunshine Coast Falcons

Jack Martin – Ipswich Jets

Fanitesi Niu – Souths Logan Magpies

Brendan Piakura – Tweed Seagulls

Tristan Powell – Burleigh Bears

Jake Simpkin – Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Hamiso Tabuai–Fidow – Townsville Blackhawks

Carsil Vaikai – Tweed Seagulls

Sam Walker – Ipswich Jets

Reece Walsh – Tweed Seagulls

18th man: Toby Sexton – Tweed Seagulls

Coach: Kurt Richards